We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zax is a must-stop for us when in Moab...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole

Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole
96 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2503
+1 435-259-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 71 Restaurants in Moab
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Farmington, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Zax is a must-stop for us when in Moab...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Anytime we get hungry for wood-fired pizza, Zax comes to mind. On a recent stop in Moab, we had the pizza/salad/soup buffet...all delicious! Many selections of pizza served on a counter with a view of the ovens--the guys stay very busy moving pizzas from the oven to the counter. (Loved the Beer Cheese soup, too.) The staff is always great--Tom our waiter was very helpful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    535
    213
    50
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sport pub as many others. Beer is good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The only advice I can give is : take the Soup&Salad bar menu for diner. Soup is good. This is healthy and All U Can Eat so.... Good value.
Other than there is 2 main rooms. One is a pub (where we were) and the other is more restaurant style.
I would say the pub part is pretty loud. Sorry: One of the waitresses is pretty loud actually, and to be franc we prefered the others who were really sweet and not like this : "if you don't tell me what you want in 3seconds I go somewhere more interesting for me" kind of girl...
Anyway. Past this Loud waitress we had a great time :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good for Moab - Tom the waiter was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always ask locals/shop workers where they go out and got a couple of recommendations for Zax. They have a very varied menu so it was difficult to choose something because they attempt to have something for everyone...no main theme to the menu. I had the Pizza/salad/soup buffet. 2 kinds of soup are available and a smallish salad bar. For the pizza, they only offer thin crust and it's actually fairly good - bottom of the crust is crunchy and stiff, doesn't get soggy and with the stiffness, makes it easy to hold/bite. Sauce and toppings are OK. If you want a specific pizza, you just ask one of the 2 guys making pizza for it and they'll put one together.

Also got the pulled pork sandwich. Tom, our waiter, recommended the fries to go with it as it has a breading on the outside. Wow! The BEST fries. Don't salt it, don't put ketchup on it, just eat it plain. Better than Five Guys/In&Out/all the other burger chains. I would go back just for the fries! I was stuffed from doing the "all-you-can-eat" but I kept picking up another of my wife's fries, I couldn't resist. The pulled pork was the requisite tender but lacked chunks - it was shredded. BBQ sauce was a little too sweet. Comes on a big kaiser style roll.

Tom was better than the food. Friendly and you got the impression that he was giving you his honest recommendations rather than what mgmt told him to push. Never had to request a refill he was on top of it.

If I go back to Moab, given my sampling of restaurants, I would go back to Zax.

Atmosphere - I would have given it a "4" but some parents really don't seem to care about the dining experience of other people. Rather than deal with their kids, one group just let theirs run around the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Girls in the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The resturant itself offerred a nice varied menu with GOOD service, however, it was the girls in the bar that were really entertaining and and made our visit even more enjoyable. There was Jenny who kept us in stitches while providing efficient service, also, we appreciated meeting Molly, Heidi T, LeThu, and Laura. It was such a good experience my husband and I visited twice while in Moab.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice bar area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed the local crowd over there. Good beer and the menu has plenty of different options (pizza, BBq, sandwich etc...)
Reasonable prices.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole also viewed

 

Been to Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zax Restaurant & Watering Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.