We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and lacking in services” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites to your Saves list
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 West 200 North, Moab, UT 84532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi!!
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dated and lacking in services”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

In desperate need of upgrading, very worn out. I was disappointed that there was no in room coffee maker. They do brew coffee 24/7 in the lobby though. It was not my choice to stay here, but they did provide what was needed. The towels were stained and the room smelled weird, like some strong disinfectant. Price is good and on the positive side they are pet-friendly and mountain Bike friendly. I did not experience any problems with the staff as others in this forum. I thought they were friendly and accommodating. Perhaps they are exactly what others are looking for in a stay, just not my style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Jon B: Thank you for your comments. We value your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with management for improvement plans. We are happy you recognized the good value our hotel offers to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    97
    96
    37
    22
See reviews for
60
127
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I always try to give the benefit of the doubt when writing a review. I was staying at a budget hotel in an adventure area of outdoors enthusiasts. I was not expecting much from a bargain establishment. What I was concerned about were the grumpy staff and management that really made the lower end amenities and facilities more apparent. I can not say many good things, because the experience left me scratching my head. My business was not welcome and I guess they have plenty of people to cover my return business to the area. I am sure other establishments could use the support.

Room Tip: The upper level seems best, it opens to either an alley or the front parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Needed a pet friendly hotel and this was the only one available in Moab. The room was clean but so small. No room to even change your mind. Downtown, close to everything. Older look, TV perched on top of a wardrobe was almost scary.. Mini fridge. Pet fee is $25 - more than most hotels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The front desk guy was Great! Helped me and my Husband with al our questions and directions, the room was very clean we had a refrigerator, microwave in our room, fireplace down stairs lots of guests in lobby and in the hot tub, it was very home like and inviting. I am so glad we chose to stay here!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Reception was great when we checked in. Could not have been more helpful and supportive. Got a nice room (very 80s, early 90s|) clean, fridge, microwave, comfortable with old TV mounted in the corner on the wall.

Out for the evening, back and the television cable went off before midnight, as did the internet. Did not return until late morning the next day. Said it was the internet provider, but, this is not what one expects in a big town, particularly when other hotels and residences did not lose service. When tried to find out the next day, desk was very curt and not helpful. Downgraded the service immediately with that attitude.

Overall,a nice place. High demand and, to be honest, over priced, but Moab is a mecca for tourists, and thousands come this time of year. Basics are it is clean, comfortable and has nice amenities, when they work.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the main road as possible. The main road is very busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was a little older than others in the area but it was very clean and comfortable. A good location right off main street near the shops and restaurants.,The staff was excellent and they kept the room clean,We stayed 5 nights.Coffee was available 24/7 .The rooms were large with two queen beds so you don't feel cramped, also came with a micro wave and fridge . The pool and hot tub could use an overhaul but they were good enough to dip into after a day of hiking..The price was right,would I stay there again yes..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Location was centrally located and just off the main strip. The rooms were simple but adequate, beds were ok pillows were horrible. nice addition was the microwave and fridge. Wanted to go for a swim but the pool plaster was chipped away, tiles were loose and jacuzzi was in the same poor state. Next time we'll spend a bit more but enjoy a more comfortable room. Hotel is in need of a facelift.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Address: 71 West 200 North, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. We feature rooms with one queen or 2 queen beds and long term apartments with 2 bed rooms with a full sized kitchen and living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.