We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service - hotel needs updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Hwy 191 North, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 34 hotels in Moab
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great service - hotel needs updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect for those wanting to experience the city of Moab and nearby national parks, Canyonlands and Arches.

Other strengths of this hotel include the views/location (spectacular views, especially from the pool!), the room was very clean, and great front desk service.

A few things to note is that the hotel is in need of updates. We noticed some peeling wallpaper and water stains. The carpet would benefit from replacement soon.

Overall, we were pleased with the convenience of the location and lovely views. We would stay again.

The breakfast was hot and fresh, however, the dining room was very crowded, and we rushed to eat and leave from all the noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    162
    69
    39
    17
See reviews for
141
160
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Room was large & clean. Standard HIE.
Breakfast was very busy & it took a while for supplies to be replenished.
Indoor pool was a good size.
Clothes washing facilities on the first floor.
As a Priority club members were given granola bars & bottles of water. However girl on the front desk could have been a bit more friendly & welcoming.
Too far out of town to be walkable although near to Arches.
Moab is a great little town so I'd recommend staying in a hotel in or near the centre to soak up the atmoshere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is clean, the breakfast was typical for hotel breakfast, but the cinnamon rolls were great. It is close to the parks, but not right in town. This did not bother us at all as it is just a short drive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We reserved an executive king suite and were disappointed with the accomodations. It was just one room with a couch and chair and the bed right next to that. The kitchenette area was right across from the bed and had a small fridge and microwave, and I did like that it had dishes and utensils to use, The room was not exceptionally clean. There are no doors on the closet which is facing right into the room. I like to put things in the closet and close the doors. The bathroom was huge but could use some updating. I like to stay at Holiday Inn Express because they are usually newer and clean and fresh looking and their suites are nicer. This one did not meet the standards I expect from this chain. We checked out after 2 days and went to a different hotel in Moab

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear RobertSuzanne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It's nice to know that you liked some amenities in the room. However, we are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a fairly average Holiday Inn Express. Could do with modernizing and redecorating but it does the job just fine. The breakfast is the same as HIX everywhere but perfectly adequate. Worth noting that the" suites" aren't actually suites: there is a seating area with sofabed but it's all one room, so doesn't compare to a Homewood or Staybridge Suites for example.

As others have said, it's a little way out of Moab but is very close to the entrance to Arches NP.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is very close to Arches NP. It's clean, the staff is helpful, and the hot breakfast was great. The breakfast area was very busy though, even for 7:00! Priority club members received bottle water and granola bars upon check in. The pool was great for my kids. It was empty both times we went swimming. The hot tub was nice too. The room's wallpaper was coming undone in a few places in our bathroom (from the steam), but the room was clean and well stocked. Another reliable Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have previously stayed here several times over the last few years. On prior visits I always had a king suite. This visit I had a two queen bed room. This is the first Holiday Inn Express property I have run into with NO refrigerator in the room. Truly not servicing their guests properly in a desert climate and considering that most people visit here to hike and enjoy the surrounding parks. Front desk staff was unhelpful and very poorly acquainted with the area. I listened as they gave bum advice to the couple in front of me about the distance and time required to visit Canyonlands National Park - and corrected the visiting couple so they could make the most of their visit. Room was also not particularly clean either. I will look for other accommodations on my next visit to Moab. At $179 for a night there is definitely better to be had in Moab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Meezermeister,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the efficiency of our hotel staff, housekeeping services you received as well as your room accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. We will address the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

While I understand your stay was not 100% as it should have been. I do hope you can stay with us again so we can show you how truly great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab

Address: 1515 Hwy 191 North, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#13 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the banks of the mighty Colorado river sits the Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Artistically decorated, this three story, 79 room hotel is surrounded by the majestic red rock cliffs of southeastern Utah. All of our rooms and suites are beautifully appointed for business or pleasure. Each room has a 27' television, free wireless internet access, two line phones with voicemail, coffee maker, irons, and ironing boards. The one and two bed suites include a queen size sleeper sofa, refrigerators and microwaves. The Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features the express start breakfast with a complimentary copy of the USA today to get your morning off right. Just a short drive by car brings you to the entrances of Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. For the more adventuresome, how about you at the wheel of a four wheel drive in the rugged back country experiencing awe inspiring scenery. If four wheels are to tame, consider two wheels on the infamous Slick Rock bike trail, or show no fear rafting the white water rapids of the Colorado river. Whether your looking for a relaxing weekend away or a week full of adventure, the Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the place to be in South Eastern Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Moab
Holiday Inn Express Moab
Holiday Inn Moab
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.