We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Hwy 191 North, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Omaha
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Everything is pricey in Moab, so we expected to pay the high price we did. Pool is indoor and it gets very loud with just a couple of kiddos in there. Breakfast is tasty, about what you'd expect from a free meal. Plenty of options, including pancakes. Location is fine, but not right downtown. We liked that it was north a bit -- closer to Arches.

On the downside, the room was tidied, but never cleaned during our 5-night stay. Definitely never vacuumed, sheets never swapped out. A little odd and unexpected for $200 bucks a night, but it wasn't terribly bothersome. On the plus side, they provided 6 towels for 4 people. VERY much appreciated. A/C Unit had a rattling sound the entire time, but it did cool the room. General hotel noise was low, even with the crummy room right above the entrance outside the elevator.

Service was also average. When the front desk clerk needed a smoke, she put up a "be back in 5 min" sign and went out front to smoke. Seems like that should be done on regular breaks when someone else can cover the desk.

There is a bike storage room, but only accessible from the inside (again, inconvenient). Nice to have a suite with a little fridge/sink. Very handy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear huskeranna,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the breakfast and the towels provided.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on housekeeping and the air conditioning noise. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    210
    77
    36
    19
See reviews for
186
204
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

one of the 10 hotels we stayed at during our 16 night group trip to west USA , 8 Harley's and 1 car
stayed 1 night here , booked through Priceline.com at a very good rate
Nice rooms , comfortable beds , all you would expect from a 3*
Location is ok if you have transportation , you are about 2 miles from the town center
Breakfast was included in the rate , a good furnished buffet
inside pool was OK also , but too much chlorine in the Jacuzzi
would come here again when I visit Arches

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and there is an indoor swimming pool. However, there is no bar or restaurant on site. As the hotel is located about two miles north of the town centre, other than the excellent Bucks Grill, you need to drive to find a restaurant for your evening meal. HI Express hotels in the UK always have a bar and restaurant in my experience.

The complimentary breakfast was awful and very disappointing given the price we paid for the room. The orange juice was horrible watery stuff and the cooked food was very poor quality. We ended up going to the Moab Diner in town for a decent breakfast.

To summarise, if the hotel was $100/night I'd have given it out of five. For $173/night the poor breakfast and facilities let it down.

Room Tip: The road can get noisy early in a morning, so ask for a room as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. Beds were comfortable and the AC worked. Complimentary breakfast was ok. They allowed us a late check out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel. Only 5 minutes to Arches NP, 30 minutes to Canyonlands NP, and 5 minutes to downtown Moab. The room was clean and comfortable. They served complimentary breakfast from 6am, so we enjoyed hiking early in the morning before it got hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this property. Would I recommend it? Yes, but be prepared for housekeeping issues. Location, north of downtown, is good. The hotel appears relatively new, but the furnishing (upholstered chair in suite) need replacement, BAAADD! As other guest stated, carpeting badly stained also. Front desk personnel (especially Wanda) super friendly and accommodating. Had to practically BEG for replacement of body lotion, coffee, creamer, etc. WHY? Just because I spent more than one night, how come this doesn't get replaced automatically? I left the empty lotion bottle and coffee residue visible, but no, not replaced. Breakfast was decent. Their "biscuits and gravy" are a daily item. Exciting, huh? Variety is the spice of life! Pancake machine was challenging to most guests, and wasted product. Otherwise, location-wise, great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We are a family of four with children ages 11 and 4.
We have stayed at this hotel twice. March 2011 and March 2012 and have been happy both times.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
We found the breakfast to be very good and the staff to be friendly.
The hotel is very convenient to Arches National Park and Dead Horse State Park.
If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, convenient hotel then I would recommend the Holiday Inn since choices are somewhat limited in the Moab area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab

Address: 1515 Hwy 191 North, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#9 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the banks of the mighty Colorado river sits the Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Artistically decorated, this three story, 79 room hotel is surrounded by the majestic red rock cliffs of southeastern Utah. All of our rooms and suites are beautifully appointed for business or pleasure. Each room has a 27' television, free wireless internet access, two line phones with voicemail, coffee maker, irons, and ironing boards. The one and two bed suites include a queen size sleeper sofa, refrigerators and microwaves. The Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features the express start breakfast with a complimentary copy of the USA today to get your morning off right. Just a short drive by car brings you to the entrances of Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. For the more adventuresome, how about you at the wheel of a four wheel drive in the rugged back country experiencing awe inspiring scenery. If four wheels are to tame, consider two wheels on the infamous Slick Rock bike trail, or show no fear rafting the white water rapids of the Colorado river. Whether your looking for a relaxing weekend away or a week full of adventure, the Moab Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the place to be in South Eastern Utah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Moab
Holiday Inn Express Moab
Holiday Inn Moab
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.