We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Cliffs Lodge to your Saves list
Red Cliffs Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suites only 119.95!
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stay, amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was the priciest place we'd booked into during a road trip around the west... and, by far, the best.

Situated a good long way off the highway through Moab, following highway 128 along the course of the Colorado River (our GPS had given up with directions a couple of miles into the road), the hotel is situated cleverly so that each room backs out onto a private view over the river and the stunning scenery around here (the name of the place kind of gives it away).

Our cabin (and I'd guess they are all the same) was spacious, with a raised sleeping area descending a few feet into a pretty useful kitchen area with a sofabed. The main bed was king-sized and very, very comfortable. The bathroom was large and functional, providing filtered (RO) water for drinking (also repeated in the kitchen). For the first time in our trip we were provided ceramic mugs and wine glasses which makes for a more pleasant experience, particularly whilst sampling the wine bought from the on-site winery whilst watching the sun set over the river.

The restaurant offers a typical American menu, and I can say that the Buffalo rib-eye steak is superb. Given that the hotel is a little off the beaten track it's a safe choice to eat here (though probably worth reserving a table).

Costly, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    372
    84
    26
    8
See reviews for
528
723
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of the best places I have ever stayed in terms of location and views. The drive to the Red Cliffs is pretty spectacular too, along the US-128

We had a room/cabin only just along from the main building/reception with a bathroom, double bed and lounge/kitchen area with doors that opened onto a patio. The patio looked out onto the Colorado river and the rocks surrounding it. What a place to sit with a drink and relax - very peaceful and you can watch the river rafters floating by.

The swimming pool is a nice area with a gym attached and a laundry.

We visited the movie museum in the main building which was interesting, showing the movies made at the Red Cliffs and the surrounding area of Moab. We also visited the winery, next door to the main building, which had free wine sampling and you could purchase the wine made at the Red Cliffs.

The only disappointment is the Cowboy Grill (see separate review), it is expensive for what it is - obviously they can charge higher prices as it is the only place around. May make better sense to make use of the kitchen in the room.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you just want to relax. We stayed in downtown Moab for 3 nights to visit Arches and Canyonlands and then came to the Red Cliffs for 2 nights just to chill. It is slightly out of the way to keep going back and forth to the National Parks (about 20 miles), and also once you get here you just want stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 103 to 108 seem to have the best views of the river, and near the swimming pool and the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spectacular scenery driving to and surrounding this place. Rooms were also very large and comfortable. Internet was sporadic but no big deal. Nice pool and we also enjoyed the small museum about the history of all the movies filmed in the area. We ate outside on the deck of the lodge and it was hands down one of the most beautiful views I have ever had for a meal. Food was great and price was decent. Would recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Public Relations Manager at Red Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you Johnplatinum, for such a wonderful review. We are always very pleased when our guests have had such a good experience at Red Cliffs Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Warm Regards,
Rhonda Graham
Online Rep - Red Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice & roomy, also very clean . Red cliff was a real western experience ,the landscape was great the loge had a nice wineries that also had wine tasting which was very good .my room was a large rustic westen flar, large kitchen area which had a small ref & microwave oven, 12 cup coffee maker.kitchen area also gave you a large room with tables & chars with a sliding door with nice morning & evening views. The brackfast is a nice Buffa ,full breakfast . Over all I did enjoy my time @ red cliff loge was very good .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Public Relations Manager at Red Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Mike C, we appreciate your review of Red Cliffs Lodge. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best Wishes, R. Graham - Online Rep - Red Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My family of 4 stayed in a 2 bdrm cabin along the Colorado River. You will not find any lodging in Moab with a comparable view! We enjoyed the amenities: swimming pool, tetherball, horseshoes, horseback riding, winery, museum. Restaurant was great. The staff at both restaurant and hotel was very accommodating, always greeting us with a smile and great service. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Public Relations Manager at Red Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Jill F, we appreciate your review of Red Cliffs Lodge. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Best Wishes, R. Graham - Online Rep - Red Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Red Cliffs Lodge was outstanding in every respect. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and we looked directly out on the flooding Colorado River hurrying by. The dining room was also excellent, delicious food served al fresco The service provided by every staff person we encountered was above and beyond our expectations. It is a bit of a drive off the main highway, but it is worth every minute of that drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda G, Public Relations Manager at Red Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
David F, Thank you so much for the kind words. It's wonderful to get excellent reviews like this, and to know that our staff and our management are meeting and exceeding our guest’s expectations! We appreciate you and hope to see you again in the future.
All the Best, R. Graham - Online Rep - Red Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent three nights in the Arches/Canyonlands area around Moab and we decided to stay at the rRed Cliffs. The place was in a beautiful setting. Our cabin was right on the Colorado and the 14 mile drive to the highway in Moab was one of the prettiest you will take along the Volorado Riverway. It was a peaceful setting, and while quiet, it was not inconvenient to the Parks or town. The room was great, the view from the dining room patio was wonderful. The food was good. We enjoyed the pool after a hot day hiking in the parks. Because of the drive though, we tended to start the day and end the day at the lodge or went to Moab straight from the parks for dinner, rather than come back to the room to change. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Cabin on river was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cliffs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.