We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for large family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Cliffs Lodge to your Saves list
Red Cliffs Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for large family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited the Moab area during three roasting days in July, nervous that we had made a huge mistake in terms of time of year. It turned out to be a magical experience. The lodge was perfect. Our family of six took two cabins, each with two bedrooms. The cabins were right across from each other, looking out onto the Colorado River. The cabins were immaculate and COOL, very comfortable bedding, with spacious kitchenettes. Each had a lovely deck right on the river. The staff was friendly. The food was not gourmet, but hearty and the buffet breakfasts were hits with our kids — something for everyone. My daughter and I went horseback riding — a group trail ride into the canyons. perfect for beginners, and competent, upbeat leaders. Nice pool (but too hot for us during the afternoons). For what we got — spacious accommodations, beautiful setting — I felt the price was extremely reasonable. The lodge is a good 25 minutes from Moab, but we went in each night for dinner and didn't feel the ride was too long. This is an ideal resort for a family looking for a base of operations to explore this truly spectacular area of our country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    397
    87
    29
    8
See reviews for
562
768
47
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but had dinner here on the patio facing the beautiful Colorado river. The vews are spectacular and well worth having dinner here just for this. The dinner itself was good -we chose prime rib, red creek trout and steak. The steak was rather tough, but the rest was delicious. The Western film museum within the lodge is well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved this hotel. The view was amazing, the location was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved that the room had a kitchenette (which included a small refrigerator, a tiny freezer, a coffee pot, a microwave and a few dishes and utensils). It was nice to have the kitchenette, as the hotel is about 20-30 mins from Moab (which we knew when we booked it) and we didn't have to worry about finding meals. The grounds are lovely and expansive and the pool and hot tub were very nice as well. Our room was impeccable and the bed (we had a king) was very comfortable. We loved our patio that overlooked the Colorado River; it made us feel that we were almost still in Arches National Park (which was one of the main reasons we came to Moab). We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We absolutely LOVED staying at this hotel. It is highly recommended for a reason. The setting is absolutely beautiful. We had one of only a few rooms that allow pets. (This is not so easy to find in Moab.) The room was very clean - no evidence of other animals having been there. The room we stayed in had a king size bed and a modest kitchen set up (microwave, small fridge, sink, cabinets - more than adequate), large bathroom, and a pull out couch. We had ample room for 3 adults and a small dog, although it was a little tight in the morning with the couch bed pulled out. The best part was the back porch of the room which looked out at a gorgeous view of the Colorado River and canyons. The pool was very clean, refreshingly cool, and also had a great view. With horseback riding (which we didn't do), a movie museum, and a great restaurant, a vineyard (didn't go but had the wine which was excellent) you barely need to leave this place to enjoy your vacation.

Of course we did because our goal was to see Arches and Canyonlands. It is true that you have to drive about 20mins (30mins at times given construction delay) to get to the national parks but I should point out that the view on the drive is spectacular. I never got tired of it. It looks different at all times of day. Biking would be amazing especially when they finish the construction of the separate bicycle lanes.

Not cheap, but worth it for a little seclusion and a beautiful setting. One note on the dog. The home doggie daycare they recommended was on the far side of Moab which took extra time to get to. To be honest though, it's a small town and it wasn't really a problem. You can board the dog the night before if you want to get an early start at the canyons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived at midnight when it was pitch black. We couldn't believe the view when we opened the curtains the next morning; red cliff rock formations and the Colorado River! Everything about our stay was fantastic. The room was perfect, the decor in keeping with it's location. Staff very friendly. Good breakfast and dinner, and wonderful wine from their winery. Great and very clean pool. This is a really special place and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: King rooms are on the river, a better view but more sun. It looked like the patio of the queen rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms are nothing fancy but are very clean and comfortable. The balcony of our room was next to the Colorado River and what a view it was. It is worth the month to have a view like this. The staff was very good. I have no complaints and would go back. It is a little ways back to Moab but we knew this when we got the reservation.

Room Tip: make sure you get the room where you can see the river really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful location. The restaurant has a fantastic view. The staff was very friendly. On the downside, it is quite further out of town than I expected. So, that's it. You won't be heading out to partake of the Moab nightlife, after dinner. To much chlorine in the pool. The rooms are underwhelming. Nothing bad to report here, just not worth the money or the rave reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#3 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cliffs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.