We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Moab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Sage Inn to your Saves list
Silver Sage Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   840 South Main Street, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good value for Moab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

A peculiar smell greeted my arrival in Silver Sage and despite the best efforts of the friendly manager, it persisted for the 3 days I was there. I don’t know if it was just my room or the whole hotel, but that was the only problem I had with the place. It was cheap and cheerful, and the bed was fine. It’s a bit far away from the main action of Moab, such as it is, but with a car, I had no trouble and there is a Dollar General straight across the road if you want to stock up on water and ice. All in all, I got my money’s worth from Silver Sage but if I’m ever back this way, I’ll probably stay somewhere with at least a pool (or even just a bath for my aching feet).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
62
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

It doesn't look like much on the outside, but there were a lot of nice resources here-- outdoor storage for bikes, etc., picnic tables, a grill, etc. The rooms were rather small but very clean and you don't spend a lot of time inside in Moab to begin with. The hotel is a mile or so off the main drag but there is parking available there if you want to shop. It is just a 1/2 mile walk to Red River Adventures and less than that to Paradox Pizza, which was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here for an overnight before going to Arches National park. It is fairly bare bones but a great place to crash for the price. Front desk service was friendly and quick. Room was clean. It was quiet. We felt safe. Large room and bathroom. Not great water pressure though. Firm and comfortable mattress. Great location on the main street in Moab, so near many places to eat and a quick drive to Arches. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Good place to stay while visiting Moab and hiking. Place is very clean, and super quiet. Not a luxury type of place but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Fit our needs perfectly!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

As noted by other reviewers, if luxury is your thing, Silver Sage Inn is not for you. On the other hand, if you are after an affordable place in Moab, this is probably among the best. The charming owner is extremely helpful and full of useful info and tips about out-of-the-way hikes (quite spectacular) and good restaurants. A VERY FAST INTERNET is an unexpected bonus. We enjoyed our stay here and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Been staying at the Silver Sage for over 10 years!! Love this place. It's for sleeping, showering, and planning! If you need fancy go down the road but it has everything real outdoorsy people need. The owner is one of the nicest guys in the world. Give it a try it's worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed for three nights in Moab in this Inn and made Moab my base to hike in Arches NP and Canyonlands NP. The inn is clean and adequate for a person travelling for outdoor activities. May be the best asset the motel has is the owner himself who is very friendly and helpful. May be the only negative part is the room size, which is a bit small. However, it was adequate for a nice sleep after a long day with outdoor activities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sage Inn

Address: 840 South Main Street, Moab, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moab's affordable Inn located on Main Street and right down the block from the popular Moab Brewery. 5 minutes to Arches National Park and the Colorado river. 45 minutes to Canyonalands National Park and Deadhorse State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silver Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sage Hotel
Silver Sage Inn Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.