We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motor lodge in great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Big Horn Lodge to your Saves list
Big Horn Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   550 South Main Street, Moab, UT 84532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounted Rates!
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Average motor lodge in great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

First off, this is a pricey town, with few, if any, accommodations under the $100 threshold. Compared to other motor lodges we stayed in Colorado and Utah, this was just average. And it did not include free breakfast like all the others. Heavily advertised, we signed up, and though clean and comfortable and walking distance to downtown, more than one night would be cost prohibitive. Loved Moab and the surrounding parks, just thought the Big Horn Lodge was so-so, and would upgrade to a more comfortable lodging next time through this area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are happy you chose Big Horn Lodge during your stay in Moab. If we could do anything to make your stay more comfortable the next time you visited please let us know. We invite you to come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    113
    73
    25
    8
See reviews for
65
113
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a classic two-story motor lodge next to the main road. It has a few miles under the hood but works OK, without sparkles... Best feature is the outdoor pool which grown-ups and kids will enjoy after a hot day in Arches NP. The motel is also close to shopping and waling distance to a couple of family diners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to Moab in the near future. We would love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The wood paneling gives a rustic feel to the place. Our room was located on the ground level and made it pretty easy to load and unload the vehicle. Comfortable room that provided a good sleep after a day of hiking at Arches. Hotel provide coupons for discounts at the adjoining restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Convenient location to restaurants and other services, and a short trip to Arches NP.

Room Tip: Stub wall separates the parking area from the ground floor rooms. The ledge was convenient for stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for the Big Horn Lodge. We are happy you visited Moab and Arches NP. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we invite you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsgrove, nj
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - didn't spend a large amount of time in the room as we did long hikes - but were quite satisfied with the accommodations. We had a cat - so put in a "pet room" - but it was clean with no odors. We did notice a slight odor when we put the fan on - but think it came from outside as the area to walk pets was behind our room. Bathroom is VERY tiny! But the sink and vanity area not in there and is roomy! It is a little pricey for what you get (no breakfast or even coffee). Walls are thin, and you can hear the tv from the next room, but with the fan on - it was fine. The room is very rustic looking and goes with the area. If we got a good price, would stay there again. The front desk personnel were helpful enough - not overly so, but ok.

Room Tip: I would probably try to get a 2nd floor room so the smell from the "pet walk" area didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay while visiting Moab. We do offer discounted rates periodically through the season, when you visit again just ask us at the time of your reservation if we have a special and many times we do. We do offer coffee in our rooms and also at the front desk in the mornings, we are sorry to hear you didn't know about that service we would have be happy to help. We invite you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a popular place for Jeepers, 4 wheelers and bikers (motorcycles) to stay while they are in Moab so I thought it was going to be party central. However, we had a room in the center on the first floor and our first thought was that it would be noisy with all the people traffic. I was pleasantly surprised to have a quiet sleep both nights we were there. The rooms aren't anything special, but they have what you need and they are clean! If we need to be on the main drag where we can walk to most everything, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get an end room away from the busy entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We hope you will visit Moab again and we invite you to stay with us on your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rooms were ok, but noisy. Smoking outside of the rooms could filter in. Walls were thin and we had to listen to neighbors talk and argue for much of the night. No breakfast, no coffee in the small reception area. Poor parking availability. Traffic could be heavy and it was inconvenient to go to the neighboring National Parks. Very poor value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was not what you expected. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your concerns are very important to us. Our lobby area has coffee and tea available in the morning from 6 am to 11 am and the restaurant next door does service a reasonable breakfast. We also have discount coupons for the Moab Grill next door for breakfast and Dinner. We appreciate your review and hope you will visit Moab again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We Stayed two nights at the Big Horn Lodge and can say, "it was not memorable." The room was fine. It was clean and large which is the most important thing in a room, but no frills. A couple of small spiders were found the second night, but we were there to hike and not spend time in our room. At the end of the day, it sufficed as a clean place to sleep.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an average room, you found it. There are some decend restaurants within walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHLMoab, Manager at Big Horn Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was not what you were expecting. We appreciate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you, we hope it will not keep you from visiting Moab again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Lodge

Address: 550 South Main Street, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Horn Lodge Located in downtown Moab, just minutes from Arches and Canyonlands National Parks and walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The lodge features log furniture, rustic interiors with Mexican tile, in a southwest style, Coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators in every room. The heated Pool is open in season. Pet rooms are available. The Moab Grill Restaurant is on site, serving 3 meals, 7 days a week, with beer and wine service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Horn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Moab
Big Horn Motel
Big Horn Lodge Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.