We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bowen Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bowen Motel to your Saves list
Bowen Motel
169 North Main St., Moab, UT 84532   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$49 (USD)
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Can't fault it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was looking to stay somewhere last minute and affordable in Moab town. Was a little sceptical of first, but this place is just like any of the other more expensive hotels in town.
Front desk service was fast. The room was large and clean with all amenities as expected. Free Wifi etc.
The room was well sound proofed and bed was comfortable so we had a good nights sleep after a long hot day of hiking.
Location is unbeatable. Just a short walk to all shops and restaurants.
There is also a very nice pool to cool off in.
For the price, why look anywhere else?

Room Tip: All rooms looked decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the comforts for the price, that is our goal and it is very nice to know from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    193
    38
    26
    12
See reviews for
94
165
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fraser Valley, B.C.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose the Bowen Motel in Moab based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we are so glad we did! We had a lovely stay here. We tend to choose chain hotels when traveling, but went out on a limb and decided on the Bowen Motel. We had the king room with extra space and 2 comfy recliners, which we enjoyed when it got just too hot outside and we'd come in to cool off. The staff was great, helpful and informative, and when we needed to extend our stay by one day while waiting for a new tire, they enabled us to stay in the same room.
We liked the vibe of Moab, its stores and restaurants and the pleasure of walking places and seeing families and friends walking around. The sights in the area are incomparable, and we still did not see everything there was to see. The people at the Visitor Centre right in town are so knowledgeable and helpful as well, we were directed there by the front desk clerk at the hotel.
We are glad we made the decision to stay here, and if (when) we come back, the Bowen Motel is where we'll head!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE EXCELLENT REVIEW! We just love hearing that we are doing everything right. We always appreciate the positive comments to keep the momentum going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A great deal for a night in Moab in the summer. Everything in the hotel is clean, but other than that I can't say much. The walls were thin, the bed rough, and the pillows atrocious. The staff up front was nice enough and there was plenty of parking and for only $75/night after AAA, you can't go wrong. For value, a great spot, otherwise, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
I am glad you pointed out that for the value we were alright but anything more go elsewhere. It sounds like you may have had a bad day and should perhaps spend more money for what you need. I do hope you find that better place when you return to Moab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleasantly surprised that this was the same price as a motel further out of town that we had been staying at previously. Very up to date rooms, new fittings and furniture. The service was good at the front desk and nice to have a pool. Right in the centre of town and easy to park. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE EXCELLENT REVIEW! Especially for the good service comment; it has been a challenge lately. Thanks to you it sounds like it may be remedied now. Also thank you for the updated rooms comment, it’s nice to know it is noticed and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Bed were comfortable and room was adequately sized. Location in the middle of town, walking distance to good eateries, Moab tends to be an expensive place to find accommodation, but Bowen Motel was fairly inexpensive comparing other places we checked. Nothnig to see from the room but it was pretty from the parking lot (photo is here: http://paulalanlevy.blogspot.com/2013/06/our-first-day-in-arches-national-park.html)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for the fair review. Nothing fancy but good and clean for the money is what we are striving for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice "park outside your room" motel, right on the main street.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and clean. We tried the pool, which was lovely, but a bit public, not that we cared!

There is no food, but there are plenty of places to eat just a short stroll away.

Only negative was that the wireless internet did something to my wired LAN setup on my laptop, which insisted on calling itself the Bowen Hotel for a few days (and other hotels) afterward - not a clue why this should happen, but it wasn't harmful in any way.

Anyway, nice motel, great value and lovely refreshing pool - we will be back if we can!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
THANK YOU FOR THE EXCELLENT REVIEW! Especially for the good service comment; it has been a challenge lately. Thanks to you it sounds like it may be remedied now. Wished I could tell more about the wireless on your computer issue, I am just glad it didn’t impact you negatively. Look forward to having back again if you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

While the room itself was not bad for the price paid, I have never ever met such an unhelpful front desk regardless of who staffed it. I had no issues with the maintenece staff. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyson L, General Manager at Bowen Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
This is most unusual. Our service is generally the best quality; I can only assume there must have been a miscommunication of some sort. If you would care to let me know the situation I would be more than happy to remedy it, if possible at this point. The manager is always the last to know, and it is usually posted publically first. Give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen Motel

Address: 169 North Main St., Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Moab
#13 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowen Motel is conveniently located downtown. Walk to all the great restaurants, shops, and outfitters for jeep or bicycle rentals, river rafting, hiking and much more. We are a few short miles from Arches National Park, and the hub for Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse point State Park. Our goal is to provide friendly, professional service at a fair price. Choose Bowen Motel and enjoy your Moab vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bowen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen Motel Moab, Utah
Bowen Hotel Moab

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowen Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.