We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet. Ahhhhh.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrel River Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sorrel River Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Sorrel River Ranch Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 128, Mile 17, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Peace & Quiet. Ahhhhh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

We recently stayed in a mountain view room for three nights. The room was really well decorated and definitely comfortable and extremely quiet. Our room looked out to the huge red rock peaks and we were only steps from the river's edge. We looked at other places to stay in the area and there really is no comparison except for cost. Sorrel River is more expensive, but worth it to us for it's amazing beauty. Very caring staff and tasty restaurant. The resort is close to some great hiking and is far from town, if you are looking for night life there is a bar in the lodge but it was pretty quiet during the time we stayed there. We didn't use the spa but hope to return soon for a longer stay and try it out.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    121
    72
    46
    17
See reviews for
162
238
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

My husband and I have visited Sorrel River Ranch Resort for the past two years to celebrate our anniversary and plan to do so every year that we are living in SLC. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is hearty and haute. The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite cozy. Guests can take advantage of the spa services and exercise room. There is an abundance of natural beauty that surrounds the resort.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

Loved this place and would definitely stay again. Food in the restaurant is very good but expensive. We opted to buy some food in town and made use of the kitchen in our room, which was really cool and comfortable.

The staff is fantanstic - make no mistake about it. They made our stay personal, especially a manager named Brian.

Town is about a half hour away, which makes the resort isolated and very quiet. But if you are looking to go to any stores they are pretty far.

The best part of the resort is the layout with most rooms being in pods of four. I don't think there was anyone in any of the three attached to ours which was nice. Each four-pod was fairly far from the others with grassy areas in between to separate.

Be sure to hike a Fisher Tower just up the road - incredible - and of course Arches National Pk is close by too.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

I had another opportunity to visit Sorrel River Ranch but this time in March. With snow still on the ground, the fireplace in our room was most inviting. In fact, I recommend B-4. It overlooks the river and has a wonderful wood-vaulted ceiling.

Breakfast is served on the ranch-side with a far view of the mountains. Dinner is served overlooking the Colorado River and mountains. The views don't get better than this! The food was delicious with very attentive waitstaff.

The resort has been busy during the winter. A new playground with plenty of room for little ones to swing, climb and slide has been added and a porte cochere was being built.

Think again, if you think the Moab area is just for summer. The weather was perfect for hiking and the National Parks were peaceful. When you can cuddle up in front of a fireplace and soak in a claw tub/spa at the end of the day, you'll see that Spring has its advantages.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

I found the scenery to be amazing. The views are outstanding. Unfortunately, a lot of the staff are quite cold and don't seem to want to be bothered. Not very good customer service.

I can't say enough about the beautiful landscape but don't expect much from the staff. The food is average but I'm sure that it's difficult to get fresh produce since it's somewhat isolated.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner/Proprietor at Sorrel River Ranch Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2006
We consistently receive rave reviews regarding the friendliness, helpfulness and genuine warmth of our staff. Many our guests go out of their way to praise and thank our staff members. Year after year, repeat guests look forward to being welcomed back by their favorite staff members.

I stand behind my staff and invite this reviewer to contact me so that I can refund his/her stay in full as per our Satisfaction Guarantee.

It is interesting that we have never been taken up on this offer. If this reviewer actually did stay with us I invite him/her to be the first one to receive a full refund. I also invite all Trip Advisor users to contact me directly with any questions or doubts about the level of our service or amenities at our Resort. I am always available by phone or email.


Robert Levin
Owner/Proprietor
Sorrel River Ranch Resort & Spa


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

Great place. Beautiful grounds, exquisite room, friendly, accommodating staff. Wasn’t sure what to expect, but it seems there’s really nothing like it in the area. Just a bunch of chains and cheap motels. The other place you could stay is the Red Cliffs Motel, which also has a nice location on the river. But if you want more luxury stay at Sorrell River Ranch. Our river side room was huge and a good value. You definitely get what you pay for. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

I cannot believe some of the last reviews! I have been a many time repeat guest (10+ times) to Sorrel River Ranch throughout my many visits to the Moab area over the last 5 years. I have **never** experienced (or witnessed) a situation that the staff did not go out of their way to bend over backwards to accommodate the guest, and smile while they did. I have met the entire management staff; all are very cordial and professional. Each always personally ensured that we were taken care of. And they could be reached at a moments notice if something was not right with our stay.
This is a 4-Diamond **Resort** here folks. Sure, you pay a bit higher rate than the competition, but, you are not only paying for incredible rooms (I highly recommend the Spa Suite!) surrounded by the most jaw dropping views imaginable; you are paying for superb, attentive service! Sorrel River Ranch provides incredible guest service. In my many travels, worldwide, good service is hard to find, it is readily available here in the USA at Sorrel River Ranch. I could not imagine the management would allow the services of a luxury resort to slip; ever.
I love tripadvisor, because they allow the "truth" to be heard about a hotel before spending your money on it. But I have noticed that many of the other hotels on this site get hammered with negative postings. Many seem very absurd and senseless (like the ones below). I am wondering if those negative postings are from real guests or not.
Anyways, If you are looking for the **truth** take it from me, a repeat guest,

Sorrel River Ranch Resort (and spa) is ***truly the #1 hotel in Moab.***

Accept no substitutes.
I think you all should take the advice from one of these postings, and go say hi; I think you will be astounded at the setting and the friendly service. Say hi to Matt for me.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 128, Mile 17, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Moab
#8 Business Hotel in Moab
#8 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#9 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star resort in secluded location. Perfect for spa relaxation or base camp for an action-packed outdoor excursions. 55 Luxury suites and rooms with breathtaking private views of red rock mesas and the Colorado River. Special signature wellness, yoga, sports and arts programming takes advantage of close proximity to Canyonlands National Park and Arches National Parks as well as Moab, Utah state parks. Exciting adventures are at your doorstep with miles of trails for hiking, mountain biking and horseback riding, river rafting and kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, canyoneering, base jumping, hot air ballooning, motorcycling, Hummer(R) and ATV touring. Perfect for romantic weekends, family holidays, corporate retreats and photographs of a lifetime. Where Luxury Meets Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrel River Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.