We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soothing, Magical with Advice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrel River Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Sorrel River Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sorrel River Ranch Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 128, Mile 17, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2-for-1 Horseback Rides
Ranked #8 of 34 hotels in Moab
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Soothing, Magical with Advice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sorrel River Ranch (SRR) is spectacular. SRR is situated in one of the rare open plain areas surrounded by gorgeous red cliffs, mountains, buttes, canyons, and of course, the Colorado River. The River is so close that if you are not careful walking back to your room in the dark of night, you will fall in. The Colorado runs red in this portion due to the ubiquitous red sandstone, and sand, and provides a soothing backdrop for a remarkably relaxing stay. There are only about 50 rooms at the Resort, amply staffed by an international staff - many of whom are in their 20s and seem to be working for the summer. The atmosphere is both active - there are ample opportunities for guided or personal adventures (we opted for the later with some unbelievable hikes in nearby Arches National Park) including horseback riding (the ranch is right there, with horses stabled nearby), tennis, swimming, hiking, rafting and the rest. The evenings close up early, and the muted lighting enables an amazing view of the stars - although leads to the need for flashlights or lanterns to make your way about. The entire ambience is of a quiet sense of beauty and calm, buttressed by the enormity of the surrounding terrain. The restaurant is fresh and healthy, and we particularly liked the breakfast and vegetables - most grown on-site. Two caveats. First, be aware that some of the luxury rooms steps from the River are two story. We selected the bottom floor to have instant access to the River, but became aware of how audible our upstairs neighbors were in the morning, or when a new renter arrived, with a small dog. The staff was most accommodating to our concerns about noise and moved us to a smaller room looking at the mountains - but with no upstairs neighbors. We plan to go back, and will make sure we are in a one-story unit, or book the upstairs room. Second, be aware that you are a decent distance from Moab, probably a 20-30 minute drive. Many of your meals will therefore be at the Restaurant at the Ranch, which is both delicious and expensive. I would suggest a few down-scale items and some greater variety in the selection. Mostly, though, these are comments that should not deter you from enjoying one of our favorite stops in the West.

Room Tip: I would suggest booking a room either on the top floor or in a one story building. Our experience i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    98
    60
    40
    16
See reviews for
131
196
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The beauty of this place, the friendliness of the staff, and the "Yes we can" attitude we encountered made this place a haven for a much needed family vacation.

We came to relax, but exhausted ourselves with physical adventures that Moab offers. The adventure coordinators made our fun possible with outstanding and unforgettable events from rafting, horseback riding, canyoneering, atv rentals, mountain biking, and more.

The memories we made are unforgettable.

The Wi-fi was satellite based - sufficient for emails if needed, but not stable enough for streaming any video. No complaint, that is just the way it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The drive approaching Moab, Utah, is a pretty a drive as is ever to be found in the US. The plateaus, valleys, and mountains just keep getting more interesting the deeper you get into Utah.
The Sorrel River Ranch is right on the Colorado River. There is something for everyone: rafting, horseback riding, fishing, hiking, biking--just make sure you do it early in the morning as it can get very hot in this desert climate.

Each room is like a log cabin unto itself. Four poster beds, a kitchenette, double sinks and jacuzzi bathtubs make for a comfy and cozy stay. Rocking chairs on each porch stares out at the Utah red clay cliffs. It is so pretty it almost looks like a movie set.

Do not miss Arches National Park, a natural wonder!

Room Tip: Ask to face the Colorado River...you will get a quiet room with an unrestricted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Ive just arrive from SRR and is a wonderful place yo stay. The way to get there is amazing, you will experience the excenlent pannoramic views the Colorado river offers cause the road is just besides the river. Ths only thing that surprise me was that is a little far from Moab City, like 40 minutes by car. But anyway is one of the best option to relax and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in mid July 2013 at the SRR. We had a family suite that fronted the Colorado River. The view was spectacular. Sitting on the front porch watching Herons and Geese wading in the river just after dawn was particularly relaxing. The concierge was extremely helpful. We arrived late afternoon with NO plans in place and within 10 minutes had an early morning hike, noon-5pm river rafting (best thing to do when 102 plus degrees in Moab!), evening mountain bike ride along the rim of dead horse canyon area and a spectacular 7am-11am hike called the fiery furnace set up for the next 2 days!
The only possible complaints would be that service is slow in the restaurant. So...just dont eat there if you are in a big hurry. The town of Moab has lots of interesting restaurants and the concierge gave a several excellent suggestions.

Room Tip: river view family suite is PERFECT for family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

“The views here are completely cinematic. No matter where you look, there’s something spectacular to gape at: the river, the red cliffs, the landscape. This was a great escape for a weekend away. We spent our days riding bikes and exploring the surroundings, and our evenings were reserved for cozying up to the fire, late dinners and drinks. Coming back to the room each night was heavenly, I slept like a baby throughout the whole stay. Travel tip: book a room with a river view – makes all the difference. Even our bathtub had a view!”

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is awesome! Your staff is wonderful and I don't want to leave!
We arrived about 4:00 Monday afternoon, Tristin met us in the drive and escorted us to the registration desk. Two people were at the desk and both were very informative and helpful. After checking in, I asked the registration staff if I could purchase some wine, within seconds a very handsome man approached me with a wine list. I selected a wine and he suggested I follow him to the bar to taste the wine and make sure I wanted to purchase the bottle. OVER the top service!
We followed Tristin to our place on the Ranch, he emptied all of our stuff from the car and set us up in the room. The views from the front porch were fantastic, the sunset gave us a light show the likes of which I have not experienced....ever!
The "room" is perfect, very clean and comfortable. The beds and bedding are a treat to experience and the "kitchen" has everything that we needed. How cool to receive a welcome plate of cheese and fruit. It was such a wonderful touch, especially after driving across the state.
Now about dinner, the service was super, and the food was excellent! I had no reason to go anywhere to find better food while I was staying there.
You have it down and your slice of paradise is amazing.
Each day of our stay got better and better. The spa was wonderful, dining with the "stars" was fun and exciting, we never knew who might walk in next! The location is excellent, amazing hiking and biking directly from the Ranch.
I am confident you will not be disappointed when you visit this special get-away.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room location on the Ranch, everyone has its own special view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sorrel River Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrel River Ranch Resort

Address: Highway 128, Mile 17, Moab, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Moab
#5 Business Hotel in Moab
#7 Family Hotel in Moab
#9 Romantic Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sorrel River Ranch Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star resort in secluded location. Perfect for spa relaxation or base camp for an action-packed outdoor excursions. 55 Luxury suites and rooms with breathtaking private views of red rock mesas and the Colorado River. Special signature wellness, sports and arts programming takes advantage of close proximity to Canyonlands National Park and Arches National Parks as well as Moab, Utah state parks. Exciting adventures are at your doorstep with miles of trails for hiking, mountain biking and horseback riding, river rafting and kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, canyoneering, base jumping, hot air ballooning, motorcycling, Hummer(R) and ATV touring. Perfect for romantic weekends, family holidays, corporate retreats and photographs of a lifetime. Where Luxury Meets Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Sorrel River Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorrel River Ranch Hotel Moab
Sorrel River Hotel
Sorrel River Resort
Sorrel River Ranch Resort Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrel River Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.