We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up the Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Up the Creek Campground
Save
You added Up the Creek Campground to your Saves list
210 East 300 South, Moab, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well maintained, very clean, enough shade, online reservation, well managed, location was great.
You have your own picknick table, multiple grills are provided throughout the campground.
This campground was one of the best we encountered during our trip through the South-West USA.
We asked for a spot in the shade during the reservation and our wish was fulfilled.
Great moneysaver at 30$ a night compared to the motels and hotels in Moab.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arches NP was full and I wanted to avoid the "campgrounds" that include noisy RVs and such. I found Up The Creek to be a nice, mostly quiet alternative with good showers/facilities. I didn't meet the owner, but spoke with her and she seemed friendly and helpful. Once the nearby Friday night high school football game concluded the campground was consistent with my needs. Just be aware, on the off chance you stay in the fall on a Friday evening with a home football game, it won't be quiet or dark until the game concludes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Up the Creek Campground is located right in town, about 2 blocks from the main road. It is a tent only site and you have to wheel your things to your campsite because cars aren't allowed back there either. Our only complaint is that the ground is very rocky so it was difficult to get the tent stakes in. We found pounding them in at an angle worked best. The campground bathrooms were clean and the showers are great. There is a very nice dish-washing sink provided and also 3 propane grills are available for camper use free of charge. The campground operates on the honor system - with payment for sites or ice put into a money slot - and is very quiet despite being in town. There is not a worker on site so just follow instructions on the welcome board and you will be just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at Up The Creek Campground on a May weekend. The campground has nice facilities, including good showers and a convenient sink to wash your dishes. The setting is beautiful with a stream and a bike/walking trail nearby and big beautiful cottonwoods. We did hang out for awhile on our first afternoon there, and it was pleasant just sitting around.

If you are not the type to be able to handle noise, though, you may want to look elsewhere because this is in the city and you do hear sounds of the nearby roads and businesses. The campsites are fairly close together, so you'll be right next to other campers (and this place is probably full every weekend). Our first night we did have to endure the juvenile chatter and noises of some other campers nearby, but they must have all worn themselves out the following day because they were quiet the second night. There are quiet hours, but some folks are just not going to honor those, no matter where you go. This is not the fault of this campground per se - my only point here is that if you don't want to be in close proximity to other campers and you don't like noise, I suggest looking elsewhere. Make sure you look well in advance of your trip, though, because campsites around Moab get taken up quickly, at least on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Desert Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Caterpillars falling from trees above. Highway noise. Campers talking and laughing until 2:40 a.m., in spite of calls to please respect quiet hours. There seemed to be no one in charge. We filled out the paperwork, left the $$ in the pipe, and never saw an owner/manager. We didn't find a way to get help in silencing the bicyclists who kept most of the rest of us up. One couple slept in their car to get away from the noise. It's a lovely site, but not nearly as quiet from highway noise as other reviews suggest, and we do not plan to stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpTheCreekMoab, Manager at Up the Creek Campground, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Yes, one will encounter creep crawlies when camping outdoors and the caterpillars are out in full force this April. For those planning on camping in April, I would suggest bringing some kind of shade structure to provide some protection from the caterpillars. Yes, one will encounter neighbors and noise when camping in a campground in a city. I would suggest bringing earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Though it may seem no one is in charge, Sue459 made no attempt to contact me. There is a place to leave notes (the pipe safe where she paid – pen and paper provided), and I take calls and check emails 14 hours a day. When contacted, I will quickly respond to concerns and problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Peacefull campground located just 2 blocks from city amenities (laundromat, stores, diners, brew pub). The site is very shady thanks to a large grove of cottonwoods (allergy sufferers beware). We visited in early May, unusually cool in 2011, but still had plenty of caterpillars around the site; nothing a gentle brush can't take care of.

Advantages:
* Hot showers
* Shared BBQs (gas provided by hosts)
* Bike racks next to facilities building
* No RVs (nice to not have to wake up to someone's generator noise)
* Tent sites large enough not to feel like you are encroaching on neighbour.
* Pocket-friendly budget allowed us to splurge a little on dining and save foodstuff for later camping
* streams runs next to campground

Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The little gem is a tent only campground in Moab proper. It's just a couple of blocks from the main drag, but noise was not a problem. Outdoor folk dominate this camp, but being the only motorcycle camper didn't bother anyone. Friendly hosts, clean hot showers and plenty of shade from the giant cottonwoods along the creek make this urban oassis an enigma. It has an almost neo-hippie commune feel. Guitar players, no shower curtains and the flower garden add to this atmospere. I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Up the Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Up the Creek Campground

Address: 210 East 300 South, Moab, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small walk in tent only campground with showers and flush toilets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Up The Creek Campground Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up the Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.