We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deep Desert Expeditions

Deep Desert Expeditions
704 N 500 W, Moab, UT 84532
435-259-1565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 49 Tours & Activities in Moab
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in beautiful and remote Moab, Utah, Deep Desert Expeditions offers a chance for everyone to confidently explore the remote deserts, canyons and mountains of the American Southwest.We offer full and half day guided hikes, archeological and scenic tours, and guided backpacking trips.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I did fiery furnace in arches. We have done hikes with deep desert in prior years, and once again the experience was excellent. Fiery furnace is a maze, not a trace of a trail, as you walk over rock formations. Mike is a veteran guide-part of Moabs search and rescue teams-not only do you get an intimate look at fiery furnace-but you get conversation and insight into a very unique area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Good as Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have used Mike several times, occasionally for fairly strenuous hiking. This time I had a bum knee and two retired friends who had never seen red rock.

He handled everything beautifully. I needed a lot of help to navigate the Fiery Furnace (a don't miss experience in Arches) and he gave to it me.

Mike is also involved in Search and Rescue, which is comforting just in case something happens (it never has on any of my trips with him).

He just got a Land Cruiser which handles 4 wheel drive roads extremely well.

His prices are reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Deep desert rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

my daughter, I, and three grandkids, took a guided tour with mike from Deep Desert expeditions in the fiery furnace area of Arches National Park. This was a fabulous experience, so much better than hiking alone, and much more intimate than a ranger guided tour. Don't miss this experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are so glad we decided to use Deep Desert Expeditions to tour Arches National Park Fiery Furnace. Mike was fantastic. We have two kids, ages 10 and 14, and this tour was a highlight of both of theirs. Thanks Mike!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fiery Furnace Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked a guided tour with Mike for the Fiery Furnace. Our group was small and personal. Mike is an awesome guide and has extensive knowledge about the area. The hike into the Furnace was a mixture of walking and scrambling in and over rocks, but very manageable. If you visit Arches, this is a MUST see with Mike as your guide.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Desert Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Deep Desert Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep Desert Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.