We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night sky as never seen before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colorado River Ride

Colorado River Ride
Colorado River Scenic Byway, Moab, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 83 Activities in Moab
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic and exhilarating mountain bike route that follows the Colorado River Scenic Byway.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“night sky as never seen before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is something that anyone visiting Moab MUST do: the evening river ride up the Colorado with the associated sound and light show, though the highlight for us was when the lights were off and we saw the night sky in all its glory.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“boat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

had a nice ride with fantastic boat captain who was quite funny

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, great guides, cool water minimal white water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We rafted the river upstream of Moab with Adventure Tours, as most of the day tripers do. We loaded in the school bus and rode up river to unload above one of the parks. The guides kept us entertained with stories of old John Wayne movies shot in the area and recognizable vistas from various movies. All the work was done by the guides as far as unloading and rowing. Mostly this is a float rather than a white knuckle ride. There were a few minor thrills but the rafts were large and bobbed more than rocked. Lots of history and a fair lunch on the beach made for a nice morning. Not to be missed for familes or faint of heart but not for big thrill seakers.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Moab Action Center Colorado River Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

After experiencing other Moab Adventure Center (MAB) activities (Hot air ballooning, 4x4 Hummer riding, Arches National Park tour, we had to experience their river rafting ride. We were not disappointed. We had a great time and our guide and the others on the raft were outstanding. Being on the cool river during the hot summer months made a great few hours of entertainment. The scenery was incredible and we were even able to swim alongside the raft between the rapids. A must do when in Moab UT.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colorado River Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colorado River Ride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.