We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly good for landlocked desert town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabaku Sushi

Sabaku Sushi
90 East Center Street, Moab, UT 84532
+1 435-259-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Moab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian fusion, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Shockingly good for landlocked desert town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

They say the fish is flown in daily and I believe them. The quality of the fish was excellent. The preparation and presentation was top notch. The sushi rolls are large; we ordered too much. The special cocktail of the evening was so enjoyable, I had to have another.

The waitress was very efficient and friendly. There was a crowd in the restaurant and more lined up outside. The restaurant was noisy at a result. You will find out why people are willing to wait outside -- the food is exceptional.

The price was higher than we would pay in a big city, but that is to be expected in this remote location.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    74
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's the only sushi place in town but that's not why it's the best. The fish is fresh, the chefs are creative and it has great ambiance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in the Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Being from NYC I was surprised when I found out there was sushi in Moab. When the sushi chef told me the fish was flown in from Hawaii it made more sense. It isn't as good as some of the sushi places in New York, but was way better than no sushi at all!

The rolls are awesome and super creative, but the sashimi is way over priced for what you get. The Saki selection is great, (I had a flight of 4) and the cocktails are super tasty. The Poke and the Elk are must try apps.

The music is eclectic jazz and weird jam band stuff. Not a huge fan, but after a few drinks I could dial it out. The place is small, so be sure to get there early. It went from busy to crowded right at 7.

Overall a great experience, I would definitely go back. My 4 would go to a five if on my next trip they had more consistent pricing and they turn off the jam band music!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Friendly place with lots to choose from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am hardly qualified to judge the food, since this was my first sushi experience, but I had a good time and enjoyed my meal, chopsticks and all. I had the assorted nigiri, the devil's garden roll, and a beer. (When in doubt, order a medley and/or something spicy, is my motto.) The tab before tip was $39. I sat at the bar and chatted with one of the chef's (there were 4 or 5, all really busy), who looked about 25 but said he's been doing this for over 10 years and trained on the West Coast. Although the place was packed, the hostess took good care of me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is one of the best sushi restaurants that I have been to... ever! They have such fresh food and you can tell they really have a passion for what they do! Great food!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabaku Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sabaku Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabaku Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.