We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch

The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch
HC 64 Box 4002, Highway 128, Mile 17, Moab, UT 84532
435-259-4642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 71 Restaurants in Moab
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Heard good things about this place so we made it a point to stop. The scenery is beautiful, right on the Colorado river. The food is average. I do have a complaint about the automatic gratuity added to every bill. Tom was our server and one of the most unfriendly servers we have ever met. No smile or welcome just a what can I get you. Service should be rewarded and with automatic gratuity staff don't have to try.Will not return or recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    5
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's unfortunate that the service was so poor because I really wanted to like this place. It's one of the finer places to dine in the Moab area. A peaceful patio that over looks the Colorado River. An upscale resort with upscale dinner prices. But the service was horrible. it took almost 15 minutes for someone to even acknowledge us after we were seated. Slow to bring drink and to take our order. The food was over priced for what you get. Go here for an appetizer, take some pictures and find another place for dinner.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We ate dinner here three nights in May, and have no complaints about the Quality of the food. However, the prices are beyond belief. The wine list has $15 bottles of wine for $50, and the meal quickly becomes a $100+ per person adventure. Hey, guys, this ain't Manhattan. The hotel is also quite nice but very expensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lunch at Sorrel River Ranch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stopped in for lunch the other day on our way to Red Cliffs Lodge. We have never been in this part of the US before, and are just blown away by the beautiful scenery. Our server was darling, but the lunch was just OK. I may have made a mistake by ordering the ceviche, which was not on the lunch menu. (I saw it on the display menu at the restaurant entrance--obviously the dinner menu, I realize now.) The ceviche was pretty bad--far too tart from the acid, and not fresh tasting. It had 2 kinds of fish, but none of the advertised shellfish (shrimp or scallops). I also ordered the gaspacho, which was interesting (it tasted more of berries than tomatoes, but that was OK). And i can't remember which item -- the ceviche or the gaspacho -- was supposed to come with tortillas, but no tortillas ever showed up.
All of this would have been minor, except for the shock of the 18% automatic gratuity. My husband and I were both amazed. This is NOT appropriate -- for 2 people, for a simple lunch!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Go to Red Cliffs lodge instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Let's see: we were the only people in the restaurant when we arrived (7.15pm on a Wednesday); the $36 lamb chops came with a minute amount of fried onions and nothing else; and the total for two adults and two children (with two glasses of wine and no dessert) was $200. Never again. The Red Cliffs lodge, just 3-4 miles away, shows how high-end dining by the Colorado should be done.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Grill at Sorrel River Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.