We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyonlands Ballooning

Canyonlands Ballooning
Archview Resort & RV Park, PO Box 983, Moab, UT 84532
435 655 1389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 83 Activities in Moab
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For THE adventure of a lifetime, come join your professional FAA pilot Lou Bartell for a hot air balloon ride over the Canyonlands in Moab, Utah. Imagine ascending to greet the sunrise as you drift among geologic wonders that were being created when dinosaurs roamed the earth. The fragile sandstone of Arches National Park and precarious rock towers drift past, each one defying gravity with you. Your trip to Moab would not be complete without flying with us on this unique and unforgettable balloon adventure. The whole family is welcome. Enjoy this once in a lifetime opportunity... in the safety of the latest "state of the art" equipment. No two flights are ever the same. Most guests, ranging in ages from from 95 to 5, tell us it's their most memorable event of their vacation. Come fly with us at Canyonlands Ballooning for your hot air balloon adventure.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Thanks to Lou Bartell for making my first, and husband's second, balloon ride a memorable experience on October 8, 2012. We were with my parents from Nebraska and we were all in awe of the beautiful scenery. The landing was an extra, unexpected bonus. Good job, Lou. Hope to see you next year. (Side note to Lou, sell me a cap and T-shirt after the balloon ride....I wouldn't let my husband ask for the one off your head.)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    16
    5
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful even though it was hazy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Canyonlands Ballooning is a fun option. The flight area/path is basically southwest of Arches National Park and north of the Island in the Sky section of Canyonlands NP. Portions of both parks were visible in the distance, but thanks to wildfires in neighboring states, and in Utah too, it was too hazy to see them clearly. That said, the area we flew over was spectacular, with a dizzying array of multihued cliffs, canyons, buttes, mesas, and pinnacles all around. Lou Bartell did a great job, not only piloting, but also patiently answering questions posed by the passengers. The balloon is supposed to be for 16 passengers, but I’m glad we had only 8 on the day we went. I think 16 would have been a squeeze, and would not have allowed us the 360 degree views we got.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our first hot air balloon ride and everything was great. The pilot was excellent, both from a technical perspective and as a friendly and informative host. Everyone involved knew what they were doing and their professionalism put us at ease. My wife needed some assistance getting in and out of the basket, and they made sure this happened without embarrassing her or making her feel uncomfortable. The launch site was selected to reflect wind direction so when we landed, it was a quick van ride back to our car, and we didn't lose much time for other activities. We were in the air for about an hour.

Just one thing, so you have realistic expectations: The balloon does not travel directly over the national parks. You do get fantastic views and see a lot, just don't expect to go over Arches or Canyonlands. This did not disappoint me and it won't disappoint you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What An Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our first balloon flight was made so memorable by the excellent organisation by Canyonlands Ballooning. Coming from the UK initial communication could have been a problem - not so. All details of the initial pick-up arrived in plenty of time and from then on everything ran as smooth as clockwork. The experience itself was amazing, the scenery out of this world and Lou our 'pilot' giving just the right amout of information and commentary. The only disapointment was when it was all over - an experience never to be forgotten.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am a little nervous of heights and was expecting to find this scary, but I was surprised that I was not scared at all. It feels so surreal floating above the mountains, that you dont realise just how high up you are (until our pilot told us we were at 3000 feet!) You can go ballooning in lots of places, but we chose Canyonlands Ballooning as it was so close to Arches National Park. Due to the fires in Ohio while we were there - it was quite hazy, but the view was still amazing. The piolt (Lou) was quite skilled in bringing the balloon so low in the canyon so that you feel like you could touch the rocks below you and then ascending back high in the air minutes later. We were in the air for about 1.5 hours and when had a lovely glass of bubbles when we landed. A great experience - Amazing!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyonlands Ballooning also viewed

 

Been to Canyonlands Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyonlands Ballooning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.