We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gonzo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gonzo Inn to your Saves list
The Gonzo Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SoCal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect base camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

I made the mistake of letting my girlfriend surprise me with our hotel arrangements for Moab. She's a brilliant girl with a great heart, but when it comes to picking B&B's she needs a bit more training. So, exhausted after driving 6 hours from SLC, another hour driving to and back from somebody's middle-of-nowhere house that was advertised as a ResortAndSpa (they did have a hot tub...) she was ready to crash at any of the dirty or mediocre motels scattered around Moab.

To quote The Bard, I was once bitten, twice shy. I wasn't ready to give up and pick a grubby motel and regret it for the next four days - I wanted the best spot in Moab. We drove to every single motel in the city proper - the Best Western, the Ramada, a dozen ambitiously named 'lodges' that looked more like trailer parks... and we were ready to give up and go back to the balcony-free Best Western when I remembered seeing the Gonzo Inn.

What an oasis of hospitality in this town of rest stops. This motel was everything a hotel should be- the staff was friendly and sympathetic, the rooms were comfortable and inviting, the whole property was immaculate, the beds and pillows were comfortable, the shower was big enough for at least 2 people, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

As far as I'm concerned, this is the only place to stay in Moab.

  • Liked — Fantastic bed and spacious rooms, clean and inviting atmosphere
  • Disliked — No WiFi in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    141
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
90
207
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southern CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This place was very clean with a great location. The breakfast was good and the bed was very comfortable. The price is based on quality and you get quality at this hotel all the way down to the toiletries. Loved everything about this funky and hip hotel.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

We stayed here for two days in September when we went to Arches National Park. Really nice place. We had a standard king room. It was clean and worked well for us. Liked the set-up of the hotel. Breakfast wasn't huge but enough variety to make it work. We asked for a room with better wireless access; it helped but it still wasn't exactly high speed. I will say there were a few elements that would have been nice to make it more luxurious such as a different bedspread (polyester - ugh!), a comfy chair with ottoman rather than the small table and two chairs and a tub shower that would allow for a bath after a long hike. All in all good though.. nice that it's very close walk to all that downtown Moab has to offer but a block off the main road.

I agree with the person who said they did not understand why the Gonzo is listed as a B&B in TripAdvisor. It's like a small boutique hotel... albeit Moab style.

  • Liked — Neat place, not your standard chain hotel
  • Disliked — air conditioner won't go on unless you are in the room... saves energy during the day but makes for a hot return
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach,ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Graet place to stay with or without kids. Great because it is centrally located and easy to walkto restrauants and shops but not directly on the main strip. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stayed at the Gonzo Inn as part of the Southwest Sampler trip run by Western River Expeditions. The location was great - close to restaurants, shops and the Moab Adventure Center. The rooms were very spacious, the pool was fun for our two boys and breakfast was just fine.

  • Liked — Location in Moab, size of rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We have stayed 4 days in the Gonzo Inn in May. We had one of the suites facing the pool which was very pleasant and totally quiet, as the hotel is located one block off the main road. This was the major reason why we selected the Gonzo Inn as nearly all the other motels are directly along the main road. The bedroom was spacious with a great bed, the living room included a small kitchen. The balcony was nice and sunny in the afternoon to relax after a long day of hiking. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Breakfast is a lot better than in most other motels we stayed: fresh fruit, different cereals, hard boiled eggs, muffins, bagels, cream cheese, real milk, yogurt,....., different kind of coffees and teas. I would not consider it a real B&B, but it has a lot higher standard than a common motel. Wifi reception was quite bad in the room so we sat in the break-fast room to use our laptops, a little negative point. But, you could even have free coffee in the evening while we were sitting there. Alltogether a very pleasant and relaxing stay. By the way: the mexican restaurant next door is horrible, there are a lot better places in town.

  • Liked — that it was quiet
  • Disliked — no wifi in room
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

The Gonzo is an inn decorated with a simple flair. My room was quite large (a one-bedroom suite). Many of the other members of my travel group at the Gonzo had been given suites as well. The room was quite clean and in excellent condition. This is a superior property. The only negative was the included breakfast, which was surprisingly minimal, little more than bagels and fruit.

(I don't understand why the Gonzo is listed on Tripadvisor as a B&B. It isn't a B&B. It's a motel.)

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gonzo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonzo Inn

Address: 100 W. 200 South, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#8 Family Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gonzo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gonzo Inn is designed with comfort and fun in mind. The eclectic expression of southwest influences, retro 70's and industrial era is entertaining and tantalizing to the senses. All rooms are uniquely decorated with superior furnishings,vibrant colors and hand-selected materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gonzo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gonzo Hotel Moab
Gonzo Hotel Moab
The Gonzo Inn Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gonzo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.