We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not find a better deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Lizard International Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Lizard International Hostel
Save
You added Lazy Lizard International Hostel to your Saves list
1213 S. Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will not find a better deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If your looking for an inexpensive room this is the place for you! We stayed there for about 5 days. The price of our whole stay would have been 1-2 nights at a regular hotel. And when you are in Moab who spends time in the room anyways??Everyone is very friendly, front desk to the other people staying at the hostel. It is set up like the dorms back in college. We had a private room and all shared a bathroom. Everyone staying there seemed to respect each other and did there part to not leave bathroom a mess. I was happy with the stay and would recommend it to anyone passing through.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    28
    16
    20
See reviews for
14
37
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Lazy Lizard Hostel is the best value for your money. We have been to Moab to visit Arches a handful of times in the last few years since moving to the region and I ALWAYS dread staying in the super 8 or other random motels. FINALLY on this last trip, we found out there was a hostel and were super happy to rent a one room cabin for about $30.

It WAS a little cold but it was also winter. We aren't high maintenance and the small heater and some extra blankets were enough for us. That said-- I definitely know people who I would not invite to stay here because they're comfort needs are much higher.

A simple place to rest your head before a hike in the park the next day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had a private room. When I drew back the sheets I noticed lots of black hair on the pillow cases and sheets. Kind of gross. There was also a huge hole in the top sheet.... I went down the street to ALCO and purchased blankets to sleep with. I found someone's old hiking sock in the room as well. Not very well cleaned...
The showers were hot and bathrooms were cleaner than the room. I guess that is the nicest thing I can say.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLazyLizard, Owner at Lazy Lizard International Hostel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Darn. Sorry about that. This is not what we expect guests to find when they stay with us. The sock and the sheet with holes is just not OK. The cleaning staff generally does a better job than this. It has been brought to their attention and the laundry staff has been instructed to not use sheets full of holes.
As for the hair on the sheets, I have been perplexed by this. I thought that we had figured out this one decades ago. The dryer sheets that we use have been working very well for eliminating this very thing. After asking all around I discovered that one of the people who does some of our laundry was not using the dryer sheets. This person has been properly flogged.
This should take care of it, but if anyone ever finds a hair on their sheet again, please just let us know and we will be glad to make up your bed with a clean set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Lazy Lizard is very unique in the world of hosteling in the United States. It has to be the cheapest hostel I have frequented in this country. It has a great common area with games, magazine, books, tv, computer, etc. The staff was friendly and laid back. It could use a few improvements, though. Much of the place is a bit run down; as a rule, this does not concern me, but there were so many little things they could have done that I felt it did detract a bit from the overall place. It is a little bit of a distance from downtown, so a car is necessary. One final critique is the beds: squeaky metal bunk beds that squeak and creak with every move. Metal bunk beds should always be a no go for hostels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A friend was visiting me in Wyoming and I wanted to take her to the South Utah National Park. I looked everywhere for affordable lodging without finding any when someone suggested the Lazy Lizard. The prices posted on the website were quite low, strangely low for Moab but we decided to give it a try anyway. Once there I inquired about a log cabin and since there was one available and the price difference was minimal we switched to that. The cabin was cozy, had 4 beds (2 bunk beds). Sure the place is a bit rundown but it's what backpackers would call perfect. They even allow camping in their property. If you're a frugal traveler who spends more time exploring the surrounding places rather than staying in a hotel room this is the place for you. There's even a BBQ grill outside the main building. The Lazy Lizard is located on the main highway, close to the town center, on the south end of town.

Room Tip: If you can get a cabin, the small price difference is totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay for experienced travellers with realistic expectations. The nightly price for a dorm room was ridiculously low. The hostel is well worn, but clean, and with all the basics covered. A functioning kitchen, free, fast wifi, colour tv, reasonably comfortable beds - what more do you need? There was a wide variety of folks staying there, some of them maybe a little rough around the edges, but overall the vibe was friendly and open. I can understand that some folks might be more comfortable in a more antiseptic environment, but this place is a real oasis in the expensive, commercialized Moab scene. On future trips I will definitely make reservations here well in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Loved the place. Rocked up to stay three nights and priced the campground in town which was more expensive. It was a good place to stay as it has good WIFI. There was a good mix of people to chat to of an evening. The only negative was the employee with the grey beard. He was very direct and might need to learn more about customer service. The rest of the staff were very good. It was a good place to wait to see if the NP would open as there were other options. Go to Gooseneck State Park near Monument Valley as it is the same as Dead Horse Point state Park and it is free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Lizard International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard International Hostel

Address: 1213 S. Highway 191, Moab, UT 84532
Location: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Lazy Lizard International Hotel Moab
Lazy Lizard International Hostel Moab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Lizard International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.