We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pino's Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pino's Italian Restaurant
7809 Richmond Hwy, Appomattox, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Appomattox
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Good pizza, good service, good location. I would come back again, and it's also very affordable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good portions, good service, good prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tried the chicken parm which was crispy underneath the meat sauce the way it's meant to be. Spaghetti was very good too, the meat sauce is flavorful but not {too} overloaded with meat. Also tried the stuffed tortellini with alfredo sauce. The sauce was yum, and the meat stuffing was good. Overall the food was very hot, tasty, and reasonably priced. Based on that alone we would try it again if we were in the area.

But the bread is the weak point here ... it was hot, but nothing special. A real shame for an italian place. A really good quality french loaf, loaded with butter and garlic & then broiled would kick this place up two notches. Our waiter ( a nice young man, lost his name) was fantastic though - a real pro, very prompt and helpful without hovering. The place is very nice and clean inside too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Generous and tasty Italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Restaurants are few in Appamatox, so it was good to have a place where you could get a plentiful, tasty Italian dish. Unfortunately the red wine was served ice cold and although very reasonably priced was a very small glass.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Forge, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, small price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The portions are great, the price is very reasonable, and the service is friendly. I loved their pizza.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting little place, fine food, poor service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Wow, what else can I say but despite our waitress being nice to speak with...she was rarely attending to our needs! Required a refill on drinks, waited, waited, waited, finally approached the counter myself and asked for a refill. We needed a clean spoon to eat the spaghetti with...and waited, and looked, and waited...finally asked another passing waitress.

Now really, neither of the two above are big deals but in the middle of the afternoon in a restaurant with normal business I have come to expect being checked on every so often, or at least give us a look across the room when waiting on others, you know. Maybe the young lady was busy with other things when we happened to stop in, maybe not. And we were in kind of a hurry also since we were traveling but still - I would consider the service below average.

And my fork was somewhat dirty with a dried chunk of napkin on it? And another fork at the table was hopelessly bent out of shape - and the seating was not really what I would have been expecting for the price we paid which including tip was above $50 for two adults and two children. I was expecting the bill to be about $8-10 less but what the heck, we were in a hurry and were hungry.

Will I be stopping again? Most likely not as there are other restaurants in the area to take our chances with. If I were in the mood only for pizza and was passing through - sure I would stop. Now the calzone we split was very nice. But the mixture of different colored glass and plastic plates at the table was odd.

Again, there were plenty of customers so maybe our visit was out of the ordinary. And in closing, for the amount of money paid we were expecting just a bit better service and accommodations.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pino's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.