We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save Saved
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Serene Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our children treated us to a weekend away for our 30th wedding anniversary. Laurel Lodge could not have been a more special retreat for us. A red rose, chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne awaited us in our room. Over our two day stay we spent a good deal of time simply sipping wine, content with the scenery from the Cedar View Room. The back porch was a true luxury with the Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance and the Potomac River beneath. We spotted a bald eagle while drinking hot cocoa and nibbling on some of Ed's delicious maple cookies. The home with a history of its own has been lovingly and meticulously restored. Everything throughout the house is carefully placed and spaced to ensure the utmost ambiance.

To come to this place and escape from the stresses of an otherwise hectic schedule was an unexpected and welcome gift. Our stay at Laurel Lodge was blissful beyond words only added to by the gracious gentleness of the innkeepers Chris and Ed. The breakfasts are beautifully presented and heavenly to the taste. They are gourmet in every aspect and the coffee is divine.

If you get a chance, venture to Elk Mountain Trails and go for a horseback ride. The horses are well cared for and the guides friendly and professional. It's a pleasant way to spend a morning or afternoon particularly when you can return to the sanctuary of Laurel Lodge which embraces you with warmth and comfort.

Our stay at Laurel Lodge will be fondly remembered for years to come. It is truly a haven...quiet, restful, restorative and inviting. It is a place good and healing for the body, spirit and soul. Everything from the linens on the bed to the rosemary scented soap in the bathroom to the smells of fresh coffee wafting up the stairs and beckoning you to breakfast are elements of this elegant lodge and its thoughtful owners. A stay at Laurel Lodge is one to cherish.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on their website. The Cedar View Room has its own bathroom. If you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southeasten Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent one night at the Laurel Lodge and enjoyed our stay immensely. Chris, the innkeeper, greeted us upon our arrival. He gave us a tour of the house, told us about the history of the building and the various amenities and then showed us to our rooms. Our room was spacious with lovely views of the valley below. The bed linens were luxurious and the bed was comfortable. Our room had a TV and the Wi-Fi was as good as it gets - better than my high speed wireless home network! The porch was an inviting place to relax and to enjoy the amazing view. The house is beautifully cared for and everything is immaculate.

There was a wonderful chocolate tart waiting for us after our return from dinner as well as hot and cold drinks available anytime we wanted and the comfort of gas fireplaces to enjoy in the public rooms. We had dinner in one of the restaurants suggested by Chris which we thoroughly enjoyed. The living room had several newspapers and magazines from which to choose. Breakfast the following morning was scrumptious and the presentation was beautiful. Chris served some of the best coffee we've ever tasted. As well, he was genuinely interested in what our plans were for the day of our departure and offered some welcome information which helped make our trip very pleasant.

My husband and I thought that the hospitality and accommodations were simply wonderful and the attention to detail abounded. Chris truly made us feel "at home". Do not miss this place when you are in the area.

Room Tip: There are trains that run until about midnight which could be heard in the distance, but I love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The inn is tucked into a quiet little street with a pretty view. The Lodge is restored with perfect touches. It is pristine clean. The host is gracious and the breakfast incredible. A little extra is delicious home baked treats along with coffee or tea. It couldn't have been nicer in this little rustic town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the Maple view room . It was very spacious and clean . The bed was comfortable .The back porch had a wonderful view . There were refreshments available anytime and delicious homemade treats . The breakfasts were large ! Chris showed us around his house and it was well cared for .He suggested a great route for us to drive to see the sights . We met some very nice people also staying there . It was a pleasant stay in a quiet street and we'd recommend it if you are staying in this area .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Incredible facility and hospitality. Great breakfasts, great mattresses and water pressure in the shower, gracious hosts who shared lots of info about the area, great location close to town and the surrounding natural and historical areas. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here en route to Maine on our honeymoon. The view was just lovely, mountains in the distance and a wrap around verandah overlooking the mountains and the yard. I had a lovely time drinking a glass of wine (we brought our own, they provided glasses) and admiring the scenery with the neighbors cat while my husband went off looking at civil war stuff. The place is a reasonable walking distance into town, but we are walkers. Ten maybe fifteen minutes and its a nice walk down a hill. I actually thought the town was really neat on its own apart from its civil war history. I loved all the old houses. The rooms were comfortable and we had a very nice very large private bathroom, though it was down the hall. Our room had the most amazing view. Breakfast was great! We left a hanging bag in the closet and they called right away to let us know. We will definitely be coming back to stay for a long weekend sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great home, spacious rooms tastefully decorated with wonderful furniture and amenities. Common space is gorgeous, back porch has literally breath-taking view. Private quiet street. Great bathroom, especially the one down the hall.

The best parts of the wonderful weekend ... the hosts were super and the breakfasts were 100 percent gourmet treats. Oh, and the afternoon treats freshly made.

Read the other rave reviews, the parfaits, the garden-picked herbs, hand-picked fruit, fritatta, pancakes, biscuits, .... yum, yum!

Certainly a top B&B!

Room Tip: All great. The room with the hallway bath requires a walk down the hall w/ squeaky floorboards. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.