We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 2 night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save Saved
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Gateshead
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant 2 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the Maple view room . It was very spacious and clean . The bed was comfortable .The back porch had a wonderful view . There were refreshments available anytime and delicious homemade treats . The breakfasts were large ! Chris showed us around his house and it was well cared for .He suggested a great route for us to drive to see the sights . We met some very nice people also staying there . It was a pleasant stay in a quiet street and we'd recommend it if you are staying in this area .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Incredible facility and hospitality. Great breakfasts, great mattresses and water pressure in the shower, gracious hosts who shared lots of info about the area, great location close to town and the surrounding natural and historical areas. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here en route to Maine on our honeymoon. The view was just lovely, mountains in the distance and a wrap around verandah overlooking the mountains and the yard. I had a lovely time drinking a glass of wine (we brought our own, they provided glasses) and admiring the scenery with the neighbors cat while my husband went off looking at civil war stuff. The place is a reasonable walking distance into town, but we are walkers. Ten maybe fifteen minutes and its a nice walk down a hill. I actually thought the town was really neat on its own apart from its civil war history. I loved all the old houses. The rooms were comfortable and we had a very nice very large private bathroom, though it was down the hall. Our room had the most amazing view. Breakfast was great! We left a hanging bag in the closet and they called right away to let us know. We will definitely be coming back to stay for a long weekend sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great home, spacious rooms tastefully decorated with wonderful furniture and amenities. Common space is gorgeous, back porch has literally breath-taking view. Private quiet street. Great bathroom, especially the one down the hall.

The best parts of the wonderful weekend ... the hosts were super and the breakfasts were 100 percent gourmet treats. Oh, and the afternoon treats freshly made.

Read the other rave reviews, the parfaits, the garden-picked herbs, hand-picked fruit, fritatta, pancakes, biscuits, .... yum, yum!

Certainly a top B&B!

Room Tip: All great. The room with the hallway bath requires a walk down the hall w/ squeaky floorboards. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The house is charming, but a bit too spartan for my taste. The woodwork is beautiful.

Yes, the train rail is in the valley right at the back of the house, and the trains blare every time, which is quite frequent, perhaps every 30 minutes? My husband was kept awake by the noise until after midnight, despite of being very tired and sleepy. We could hear the other guests clearly. -- It's just a house, so naturally there's no sound proofing between the rooms.

Breakfast is served at three time slots only: 8am, 8:30, or 9am, and we had to choose it right at our arrival. I wanted to do the day hike to the maryland heights, which would take between 2-3 hours, and hence ideally I'd like either to have a really early breakfast, say around 7am, so we can go hike, and then come back to use the shower before check-out at 11; or go hike first and come back to have breakfast at a later time, say 10ish. Apparently that was not an option. In the end we did 8am breakfast, checked out, went hiking, and remained all sweaty and uncomfortable thereafter.

As another reviewer mentioned indeed the owner would show the house and ask for the payment right upon arrival, in the room. We were quite tired and would really like to have a rest and refresh ourselves first, and were not thrilled about this routine.

Finally, harpers ferry is a tiny town without any activity after dusk. There's NO dinner place whatsoever. It's a nice place for a day trip if you are into american history, but not worth an overnight stay. It actually got a little creepy at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurelLodge, Owner at Laurel Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Trains are certainly a part of Harpers Ferry's heritage, having been here since 1835. Most of our guests find them far enough removed to be romantic rather than disturbing. But if we know in advance that you're a light sleeper, we can steer you to a room on the front of the house where trains are barely audible.

As a small B&B we provide a freshly prepared breakfast typically at your choice of three seatings. If we know a day or two in advance that a guest needs an early getaway we can provide a light to-go breakfast.

Like most lodging establishments, we do collect payment at time of check-in.

We are sorry these guests did not find that Harpers Ferry met their expectations. Harpers Ferry is a small historic village but after a day visiting the national historic park, hiking the trails, rafting down the river, biking on the C&O canal or enjoying the local shops, most guests are content sit on the back porch listening to the rush of the Potomac River and watching for eagles. There is a small collection of restaurants in town and a wealth of fine dining within a short drive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The owners of this B&B are very nice and friendly! The inn is gorgeous with a scenic view. It's very clean and well kept. Breakfast was very good and homemade. The only difference I would want is a choice in breakfast fruit. Not everyone likes grapefruits. :) Other than that, an excellent find!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent the weekend in Harper's Ferry by myself recently - just wanted a quiet refuge from my busy job in DC, with plenty of time to relax and breathe. Laurel Lodge was a fantastic place to make this happen. From the start, the host Chris was accommodating, full of tips and information and very kind. I stayed in the Cedar Room, which had a beautiful view and lovely furnishings (and its own bathroom). The view from the back porch really cannot be beat, I spent most of my visit sitting out there with a book, taking in the mountains and river.

The two breakfasts I got were wonderful - I loved hearing where all of the ingredients were sourced from (from local farms to their own garden!), and the dishes were homey but just creative enough to be interesting. The highlight for me was fresh peaches in a honey & rosemary syrup - really great.

Thank you to Chris (and Ed, who I only met briefly as I was leaving but seemed quite nice) for making my stay so lovely and relaxing. I've already started recommending the B&B to others, and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Cedar Room has the best view by far, similar to that off the back porch. Please do note that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.