We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B with View Deck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B with View Deck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely B&B in May while we were on vacation. The hosts were very nice and accomodating as we arrived a little earlier than the posted check in time. We were given recommendations for dinner in Harper's Ferry (a short walk away) and enjoyed the dinner and the exercise. The B&B has a beautiful back deck that overlooks the river below -- so relaxing to just sit and ponder life with a nice glass of wine. I would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This bungalow is on the top of a cliff with a view out over the Potomac River. It is beautifully refurbished and restored and the host is warm and welcoming. Our bed was very comfortable and our host did well in recommending things to do, places to eat, and in filling us in on local lore. Great for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The owners will trip all over themselves to make things just right during your stay. This old house is situated on a cliff high above the Potomac River, giving you great views. Harpers Ferry can be explored in one day, so if you're staying longer you can branch out and visit other interesting places in the area including the Antietam Civil War battlefield. Several good restaurants nearby. The only downside is a faint musty smell downstairs and some noise from the passing freight trains at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: You don't really need to get a room overlooking the river as there is a big sitting porch on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Laurel Lodge on the weekend of April 6th 2013 in the Maple View room. From the time of our arrival until the time of our departure, Chris and Ed made sure that our stay was an enjoyable experience. We appreciated the attention to detail, cleanliness, genuine hospitality and amazing breakfasts. Laurel Lodge is in a great location and is within walking distance of restaurants and the historic sites of Harpers Ferry. The view of the Potomac River from the back porch is awesome. The architecture of the house, both interior and exterior are classic craftsman and Chris and Ed have gone above and beyond in preserving that original craftsman-era feel to Laurel Lodge. We could not have felt more comfortable during a stay away from home. I recommend taking advantage of the hosts' self guided tour of the outside of Laurel Lodge...interesting, historical and unique. We will definitely return to Laurel Lodge when in the Harpers Ferry area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Laurel Lodge is a wonderful bed and breakfast. It is filled with beautiful arts and crafts furniture. Chris and Ed are wonderful inn keepers. The 3 course breakfasts are amazing. We stayed in the Cedar View room and it was beautiful and comfortable. Civil War history buffs will love Harper's Ferry. We walked to dinner each night and had a very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here. Since it was the off-season, we pretty much had the common area of the lodge to ourselves. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was amazing and the view was great...we'd love to see it in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Everything you've read about the Laurel Lodge is true. Food amazing, views breathtaking, inn keepers the best, location great. We tried it because of the online photos and rave reviews. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. Harper's Ferry attractions are all within walking distance, just park your car and tie up your walking shoes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.