We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laurel Lodge, where they are delighted to see you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Laurel Lodge, where they are delighted to see you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The owners will trip all over themselves to make things just right during your stay. This old house is situated on a cliff high above the Potomac River, giving you great views. Harpers Ferry can be explored in one day, so if you're staying longer you can branch out and visit other interesting places in the area including the Antietam Civil War battlefield. Several good restaurants nearby. The only downside is a faint musty smell downstairs and some noise from the passing freight trains at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: You don't really need to get a room overlooking the river as there is a big sitting porch on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Laurel Lodge on the weekend of April 6th 2013 in the Maple View room. From the time of our arrival until the time of our departure, Chris and Ed made sure that our stay was an enjoyable experience. We appreciated the attention to detail, cleanliness, genuine hospitality and amazing breakfasts. Laurel Lodge is in a great location and is within walking distance of restaurants and the historic sites of Harpers Ferry. The view of the Potomac River from the back porch is awesome. The architecture of the house, both interior and exterior are classic craftsman and Chris and Ed have gone above and beyond in preserving that original craftsman-era feel to Laurel Lodge. We could not have felt more comfortable during a stay away from home. I recommend taking advantage of the hosts' self guided tour of the outside of Laurel Lodge...interesting, historical and unique. We will definitely return to Laurel Lodge when in the Harpers Ferry area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Laurel Lodge is a wonderful bed and breakfast. It is filled with beautiful arts and crafts furniture. Chris and Ed are wonderful inn keepers. The 3 course breakfasts are amazing. We stayed in the Cedar View room and it was beautiful and comfortable. Civil War history buffs will love Harper's Ferry. We walked to dinner each night and had a very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying here. Since it was the off-season, we pretty much had the common area of the lodge to ourselves. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was amazing and the view was great...we'd love to see it in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deptford, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Everything you've read about the Laurel Lodge is true. Food amazing, views breathtaking, inn keepers the best, location great. We tried it because of the online photos and rave reviews. Everything about it exceeded our expectations. Harper's Ferry attractions are all within walking distance, just park your car and tie up your walking shoes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took our parents to Laurel Lodge this weekend as a thank you and had a wonderful time. The innkeepers don't overlook any detail from the wonderful breakfasts to the luminaries at night on the stairs. We stayed in the Pine View and Walnut View rooms with the shared bath. The bath is large and lovely and while I don't normally like shared baths, the rates were very reasonable so it was fine.

The breakfasts (as others have shared) were wonderful and filling. And the personal service was lovely too.

The only suggestion I'd make, is on decor--the furniture isn't of the cozy variety. I would have loved a cozy couch or armchair to sink into. That said, the wooden furniture is meant to reflect the decor and the home--and it's lovely. The bedrooms are seemed a bit dark but that didn't bother me too much.

We loved our stay and felt right at home. We'd like to return for some hiking--beware there is not a ton to do in Harpers Ferry. It's a small town.

Room Tip: Walnut and Pine rooms share a hallway bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurelLodge, Owner at Laurel Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We're glad you had a wonderful time in Harpers Ferry. To clarify for others, our Pine View and Walnut View rooms use the same detached bath. When one books, we block the other room so we may offer a private bathroom. We also offer both rooms as a suite at a discounted price, in which case they share the same detached bathroom. This bathroom, by the way, was originally the sewing room because it is so bright and sunny. In the 1920's it was converted into a bathroom. It still has the beautifully restored original clawfoot tub as well as a tiled walk-in shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our trip was in celebration of my birthday. The love of my life did a fantastic job of finding the absolute perfect place to stay! The lodge itself is not only rich in history but beautiful,warm, cozy, and inviting. The hosts Chris and Ed are amazing innkeepers. The little touches are so unexpected and yet so very appreciated. The buffet in the main hallway is always ready with teas, coffees hot chocolate and some sort of yummy treat. The bathroom (we had the claw foot tub!) is stocked with makeup wipes, shampoo, conditioners, and a delighful peppermint bodywash. The rooms themselves are just awesome...the ample pillows, down comforter, and robes are just some of the nice touches.
The breakfasts have to be experienced. I have never had a three course breakfast before....and on both mornings I was thrilled by the homemade selections. (no further details, you need to experience it).
We will go back because we didn't get to see the eagles that are on the island off the back porch!

Room Tip: The Pine room has a bath down the hall, for the pine rooms use only, but worth it for the amazing sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list