We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Harpers Ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Shinnston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best of Harpers Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Laurel Lodge is an interesting experience. The rooms are large and well-appointed and the view from my room was awesome. It is an interesting experience to see the elements the builder incorporated into the structure. All sorts of unexpected items that I am not going to tell about - one must see for himself!

The grounds are a lovely mix of flowers, bushes, herbs and lawns that were immaculately kept. The common room is so comfortable and the view from the dining room was filled with Fall Color! Breakfasts were marvelous - the presentation was lovely and the food tasted even better.

Laurel Lodge is convenient to Historic Harpers Ferry, Charlestown, Martinsburg, Shepherdstown, and the Antietem Battlefield. A great "base camp" for a trip into the history the 150th anniversary of the Civil War. I look forward to returning when I can enjoy the history of the area.

Chris and Ed are attentive hosts who answer your questions, give suggestions, and leave you to enjoy. Perfect hosts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
73
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thank you to our hosts for a wonderful weekend. Chris and Ed work very hard to make each and every guest feel special - and we did. We had a wonderful weekend and their restaurant recommendations were perfect. We will return (hopefully in the near future)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in early October for our 25th anniversary. We stayed in the Cedar View room which has a private bath. Had a fabulous view of the Potomac River out of our bedroom windows. Our hosts, Chris and Ed were attentive and thorough in catering to our every need without being underfoot. I ordered the "warm welcome" platter for dinner which Chris and Ed were kind enough to serve in our room. It was delicious and i would highly recommend this addition. We had access to a refrigerator plus unlimited coffee, teas, water. sodas and homemade cookies. The homemade gourmet breakfasts were served downstairs in the common rooms at our chosen time. Both mornings were positively delicious. We have not tried any other accomodations in Harpers Ferry and now we never would. It really could not be better.

Room Tip: Book the Cedar View room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only 1 night but we'd go back in a flash. The innkeeper we met, Chris, was so hospitable. The lodge is just that - wood, stone fireplaces, wide and many windows overlooking the Potamac below - lots of greens and woods on a very quiet street. In the main hallway, there's coffees, teas, sodas, water - and the cake of the day - when we were there it was a delicious chocolate cake using one of Julia Childs' recipes. The breakfast was to die for - all the ingredients, including coffee, berries, flour, etc., are locally made or grown. We had a parfait of fresh blueberries w/yogurt and grenache, wild cherry scone freshly baked, oatmeal pancakes, local coffee, etc. We were really at home here. Our room couldn't have been nicer - very large, great bed and covers, all the amenities of a high class hotel. It is an absolutely beautiful place - out of the noise, relaxing, w/everything at your fingertips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Laurel Lodge for our 36th wedding anniversary in July. The beautifully restored house holds many interesting stories, which innkeeper Chris is happy to share with you. The house even smells like my grandmother's house, very comforting, evoking pleasant memories. Every room in the house is stately. The house itself is perched overlooking the Shenandoah River, and there are aspects of the river that elicit even more stories. Chris and Ed are wonderful hosts, very friendly and welcoming. There are so many homey and helpful touches to be found from the very particular appointments in the lodging rooms, to the music books stacked on the piano bench in the living room, lots of information on the area, and so much more. And the breakfasts! They are unparalleled in quality, fresh ingredients, and uniqueness. Chris and Ed make it a point to use local produce, fruits, honey and even bacon in their morning offerings. Our stay at Laurel Lodge was perfect, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Laurel Lodge for one night in August 2012. Chris was an outstanding host who is very proud of his inn (and rightfully so). We enjoyed a peaceful evening, a quiet night's rest, and a spectacular breakfast the next morning. I was tempted to stay another night but we had to get back on the road. Don't miss this treat!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, from August 17 to August 19. We stay at a lot of bed and breakfasts, and found this one to be outstanding. It's clear that a lot of thought and care has been put into the decor of Laurel Lodge, both inside and out, with no detail left out. It manages to seem a bit rustic (in a good way) while simultaneously being extremely clean (almost amazingly clean). Chris welcomed us an hour past the normal check-in time (with prior notice), and took the time to give us a tour of the house and explanation of how things worked. We stayed in the Cedar Room, which has an unparalleled view of the Potomac River (I think it's the Potomac) and the hills and trees across the way. The room was large, the bed was comfortable, and there was no noise to disturb us. The shower was also very nice, with a huge showerhead, and gleaming fixtures in the bathroom.
Chris served us delicious homemade breakfasts each morning, and explained the (local) origins of each dish (the breakfasts come in 3 courses). Even the fruit topping and butter for the pancakes were homemade and locally sourced.
One of our favorite parts of staying at Laurel Lodge was the neighbor cat, Chimichanga. We love cats, and we think he should be the official greeter, as he was always there to greet us or send us off. However, if you don't like cats, I don't think he will bother you.
We hope to stay again at Laurel Lodge someday, if only to hang out on the porch with Chimichanga, and enjoy the view and the yummy breakfasts. It is a nice place to take a break from the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list