We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Save
You added Laurel Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and son stayed at the Laurel Lodge on a trip to Harper's Ferry. They were both very pleased with the lodge and the innkeepers. Both enjoyed the breakfast and the convenience to Harper's Ferry. My husband wants to go back some day with me. Looking forward to the visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belvedere, Kent
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Anywhere would be tranquil compared to New York where we had just spent four days but a couple of hours on the back porch watching fireflies in the gloaming was a true antidote.
Chris and Ed were welcoming and informative. Breakfast was served at the table in tasting menu fashion - a mystery until served together with Chris's detailed description . All "historic" as Michael Winner would say.
Restaurants nearby are OK but you won't find anything beyond burgers, pizza , the occasional steak and ubiquitous crab cakes.
Treat yourself to a stay at Laurel Lodge. We would return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What can we say except to heap more praise on Chris and Ed and their extraordinary B&B? They could write the book on running a B&B -- not just a book, but THE book.

It's all about details in this early 20th Century craftsman house perched on a ridge overlooking the Potomac. From the high thread-count sheets to the rich breakfast menu, it's service with a genuine smile.

Thoughtful touches abound. A fridge full of soft drinks, fresh-baked goodies to welcome guests arriving in the late afternoon, a book on Abraham Lincoln in our room, and a floor fan in the room to supplement air conditioning strained by the hottest weather in years.

But the icing on the cake is the thoughtful hospitality shown by Chris Craig. A story will illustrate what we're talking about. An hour after we had checked out after a one-night stay, my wife's eyeglasses got smashed by the car trunk lid. We drove back to Chris for help, and he hauled out tape, Crazy Glue and all but the kitchen sink in an effort to repair them. Finally, Chris wrote down directions to his optometrist's office, where we ended up getting new frames. Talk about going the extra mile.

Now, days later, we continue to savor the memory. Thanks, guys.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but they don't all have en suite bathrooms. You need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked the Laurel Lodge as a 40th Birthday getaway and were not disappointed. Laurel Lodge came recommended by a co-worker who couldn't stop praising the owners Chris and Ed and their amazing slice of heaven. I thought he must be exaggerating but I was wrong. Chris met us when we checked in was wonderful - you walk away truly feeling as if you are treasured guests. Hospitality like that is so hard to find. They really do think of everything - water in lovely glass jug in your room, lights on the keys so you can easily open the door, extra wine glasses, sodas & cold water in the fridge on the main server for guests to enjoy - even homemade baked treats.

The home is Craftsmen and is immaculate. The furnishings the fixtures - all of it was beautiful. The back deck overlooks the Potomac and the National Park. They have a totally unspoiled view - no homes, no roads -- just landscape and water. What a treasure.

The room we had was clean and comfortable. It even had a gas fireplace but since it was 100 outside we didn't check it out! The room we booked did not have en suite bathroom but it was just down the hall and private for us. Their other rooms do have en suite bathrooms but they were booked when we made this reservation.

The breakfast was truly one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Homemade biscuits, fresh butter and jam, homemade strawberry and blueberry parfait where the blueberries & mint were handpicked by the owner and a phenomenal egg dish with fried polenta with fresh herbs. We finished the breakfast where Chris & Ed gave me a beautiful card and two chocolates wishing me a Happy Birthday. The card was lovely – the front was a watercolor done by a guest their first year of their porch.

We do plan on visiting Laurel Lodge again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The lodgings, food and hospitality were all superb. Beautiful, clean, well kept B and B with the greatest porch ever. We recommend it to all. Chris and Ed are wonderful hosts.It was a great value. We stayed in the Walnut room and really enjoyed it.- Kathy from NJ

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I travel to Harper's Ferry once or twice a year, but this is the first time we have stayed at the Laurel Lodge; it will not be the last! It's in a beautiful location, it is full of history, it is clean, comfortable and the breakfast was over the top with plenty of local ingredients. Chris & Ed are great and are there if you need them, but do not hover over you. A relaxed atmosphere in a perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Five star food, cleanliness, service,quality and attention to detail. We have stayed at other B and B's but Laurel Lodge is definitely many steps above the rest. It felt more like a miniature five star hotel. Bed was super comfortable and clean, breakfast way beyond expectations. Would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.