We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled reservations. Poor guest service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cancelled reservations. Poor guest service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I were pretty shocked by the poor service by Chad, the owner of this B&B. In fact, I've never encountered such a hostel B&B owner before. We go to Harper's Ferry every fall, but we'll never approach this Inn again. Here's why:

After initially reserving us one of their rental houses, Chad then cancelled our reservation via email only 10 days before arrival (and our friends were flying in, no less). There was no phone call. Chad and his staff didn't return any of our attempts at contacting them by phone (approximately 4). When I finally did get in touch with him, two days before the planned trip, we tried to negotiate a discounted rate for one room in his B&B. He then hung up the phone on me when I suggested a $50 discount for all the trouble and hassle we'd gone through trying to book a room somewhere nearby (everything was booked that weekend for Freedom's Run, which I highly recommend).

He admitted it was his fault that he overbooked his accommodations, but it was so odd that he wouldn't even try to help us find alternative accommodations. It was even stranger that this guy hung up the phone on a us for suggesting a discount and calling us "upset guests." Well, duh, I wonder what made us so upset...

The nice folks at another B&B in Harper's Ferry said that they'd heard of this overbooking problem before at Ledge House. So I'd stay clear if I were you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed in Suite 2 for two nights. Very private balcony, lovely view of both rivers. Room is large with hardwood floors. Lots of windows. Great breakfast.. Friendly but unobtrusive hosts. Great location, 5 minute walk to Lower Town, short walk to hiking trails. Only downside -- the bed needs a new mattress!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent two days at the Ledge House B & B and we enjoyed everything about it. Our stay was in Suite 2 on the second floor with a private bath. It had a King bed and a sitting room that opened onto a small balcony overlooking the river. The view was outstanding. Our hosts were great and the breakfast was outstanding. The only negative was a good bit of exterior work was in progress but did not detract from our stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend Suite 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Ledge House two nights in Room One, a suite opening onto the deck with a view of the Potomac gorge and train tunnel. The view was to die for. The large queen/king was very comfortable. The place is a work in progress but everything was satisfactory. The landscaping is in construction but there are many fig bushes and hydrangeas and lillies in bloom, The food was great, consisting of sauage, a baked good, eggs and potatoes, with juice and fruit. The owners were welcoming and laid back You heard the trains at night, a plus as far as I was concerned. Only a short walk down the hill to the historic district, and a few blocks on top of the hill to any historic black college. There was a graveyard immediately adjacent on top of the hill, and except for the training and lawn maintenance, it was quiet. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ledge House to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. This was our first time staying overnight in Harper's Ferry. It was a lovely time! The Ledge House is beautiful, and it has spectacular views of the Blue Ridge mountains and confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah rivers. The owners of the Ledge House, Carrie and Chad, are both super cool & super nice, and they gave us total privacy.

Greg and I were able to book Suite 3. It was very affordable and very nice. We didn't have a bathroom attached to the bedroom, but we had a private bathroom in the hallway right next to our room. The room has hardwood floors, nice cool air, a large and comfy bed, a cozy chair, and a TV. It was perfect for our weekend stay. We checked out Suite 1 and Suite 2 before we left, and they were both very large and had their own bathrooms. Our room was definitely the smallest, but like I said, it was perfect for us.

Brittany, who was also super cool & super nice, made breakfast at 9 each morning. The breakfast was amazing. Greg described it as "top notch," and I have to agree. I was thinking about the breakfast I would get to eat on Sunday morning on Saturday afternoon!

The location of the Ledge House can't be beat. It is centrally located in town and you can walk to the restaurants, historic buildings, hiking trails, and other attractions. We walked to the Canal House Café for a great diner on Saturday night and we walked to the trails on Sunday morning for a 5-mile hike. We also were able to bike from the Ledge House to Millsville (about 5 miles away) where we left our inflatable kayak & then we white water kayaked back to Harper's Ferry! It was awesome!

Greg and I had such a good time visiting Harper's Ferry and we loved staying at the Ledge House. We will definitely be coming back in June 2014 to celebrate our next anniversary!

*I would like to say that no matter where you stay, especially when you are paying money, it is easy to find little things that are wrong with a place. This can ruin your vacation. I don't think you will ever find a place that doesn't have any tiny flaws. If you focus on the little things, then you will never have any fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmitsburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are picky or expecting upscale, then you won't like this B&B. They are in the middle of some renovations and the smell in our room (Suite 1) was sort of musty. But, we are not picky and we prefer a more laid back environment. We LOVED the deck and the view, we enjoyed meeting new people, we didn't really care for Suite 1 since it seemed dark sort of and had a smell. There are chickens running around outside and the train whistle blows very loud all day and all night long, which we didn't mind. The bathroom in Suite 1 is roomy and the water pressure was good. The decor was very eclectic and old, which we liked. We loved the extremely relaxed environment and the Inn keepers are very nice. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh! We will definately go back but only if we can stay in Suite 2 (which is very nice!) They don't give you any afternoon snacks or anything, which we thought was odd compared to other B&B's we've been too. We liked the location as well.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place was a great find. The experience exceeded our expectations in almost every way.

I was a little nervous after reading some of the negative reviews. However, the owners, Chad and Carrie, must be getting better and better at what they do. I have nothing really negative to say about my stay. They are good people, and ever more generous hosts.

The views from the balcony are some of the best in the town, the rooms are comfortable, and the bananas foster pancakes with fresh chicken eggs were delicious.

The hosts were very generous and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay and were accommodated in every way. They even offered to lend us their car to repair our bikes which were damaged on the ride up from DC.

Owners seemed willing to let you be as social or as private as you wanted to be.

Overall very good stay. We would definitely recommend. And will certainly repeat.

Room Tip: The trains are loud at night. But that is going to happen anywhere you stay in Harpers Ferry. You ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.