We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outside, not-so-beautiful inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlottesville, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside, not-so-beautiful inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We had read several reviews of this B&B and others in Harper's Ferry, and the one that said this was a "diamond in the rough" was definitely most accurate. We had a rocky start for sure: We arrived smack in the middle of the time when the owners ask that you arrive, but no one was there (thank goodness the door was unlocked). A note said that they would be "right back," but after waiting almost an hour (and getting more and more annoyed), we left a note for the owners, left a message on their cell, and went walking. Per the website, we had expected to be greeted by the friendly owners who had wine and apps in hand for us, and it was really disappointing, to say the least. The owner did eventually call us and apologize, but even the next afternoon when the owners had the opportunity to 'redeem themselves,' they were no-shows again. So, we just poured ourselves a glass of wine and sat on the deck. The owners should take the "late afternoon wine/apps" offering off of their website if they aren't going to actually follow through.

Still, the Ledge House has by far the best location of all the B&Bs in the area. We spent a lot of time on the vast deck--from enjoying our morning coffee, reading in the afternoon, to enjoying a glass of wine in the evening; the view was absolutely incredible. The inside, however, needs to be renovated and really cleaned so it can match the beauty the outside has to offer. Our room was spacious (and included satellite tv with movie channels, which was nice b/c there's not much night life in the sleepy town), but it was not as clean as we would have expected. And many little details were missing--not enough liquid hand soap, only a 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no refill, no kleenex, etc. Paying attention to these types of details would have helped us overlook the "rugged" nature of the room, and it would have shown us that the owners really cared about making their guests comfortable--which is one of the reasons why we stay in B&Bs.

The breakfasts were served on time and were absolutely delicious! We were surprised that the owners themselves didn't cook the breakfasts (the cook was friendly, but we had no idea who she was) or come upstairs to say hi or anything. We guessed it was b/c we stayed during the week; the other reviewers who interacted with the owners a lot most likely stayed during the weekend.

So, overall, the location makes this place worthwhile, but the inside and the expectations set need some work.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable, informal little B&B with a superb view and convenient location in a very cute small town, you can't do better than the Ledge House. We plan to stay there next time we're in the area (from CT), and our mid-20s kids (from DC) do, too.
Occasional trains rumble and hoot along the river below. This didn't bother us at all, but those with train phobia probably won't want to stay here-- or anywhere else in this little RR town.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, MN
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

Final impression was very positive, especially for the price. No, this is not a luxourious B&B, but it was clean, well kept, and did afford fantastic views. Also, there were many specials such as a large amount of space and use of the middle level of the house (kitchen, living area, and deck) - the couple running the B&B lives on the lower level. Breakfast was also excellent. It was a very hot day, esp for Oct, but the ceiling fan and A/C in the bedroom (we had the one on the upper floor) kept the room very comfortable.
Hopefully you are reading this review after the one dated Oct. 21. Yes, I also had some contact problems: the written e-mail confirmation was not sent out right away and I was unable to contact them by phone for several days (they were out of town over the weekend and their voice mail filled up). But confirmation was provided, and they were there to welcome us. Yes, a few things had to be requested such as a glass for the bathroom, but the husband and wife were very responsive and considerate.
One other thing: On driving to the B&B, I recommend that you take Gilmore and then Filmore streets off of Washington St and then go down a short but steep hill (get or print a map if possible). If you come in Henry Clay St (there is also a Clay St - don't take that) it is a daunting experience as you initially pass a house with junk cars out front and Henry Clay is so narrow that two cars cannot pass.
If you keep an open mind as I did, you may find this is truely a diamond in the rough and a very special experience. Finally, there is a cat and a dog; since I enjoy pets this was also a positive experience (being a cat person myself, I loved holding the cat in my lap). I am also allergic to too many dogs or cats, but did not experience any allergy problems here.

  • Liked — Beautiful views and large amount of living space available to us
  • Disliked — Streets leading into the B%B
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Was almost impossible to reach by phone to make a reservation (that should have been my warning).

First the good: Breakfast was great.
One of our couples stayed in the main house and said the bed in room 1 was really, really good. The view from the deck was great.
Woodburning fireplace in cottage.

Now the bad:
Dogs and cats (allergy sufferers beware!)
People hair and leftover soap in bathtubs.
No kleenex, toiletries, little touches in either location. No TV listing guide.
Promised appetizers never showed.
Contacted innkeeper .... took 3 hours to get a reply (see problem above with making reservation)

We stayed in...hahah...the River View Cottage. Now, one would assume this would have a "view" right? WRONG!

Not to mention you either have to drive back to the house...OR...climb a very steep hill that would be impassable in any condition other than very dry.

Overpriced for underservice.

I've stayed in far better B&B's....and won't be staying in this one again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
547 helpful votes 547 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My wife and I used to have a B&B, but this was my first time as a guest. I like my privacy. I walked through the front entrance of the Ledge House B&B and my heart stopped. The view was truly unbelievable. The photos on their web site don't do them justice. Warm and genuine innkeepers. Wine and some great snacks were ready on our arrival and the full breakfast of juice, sausage, eggs and peach & blueberry crepes with freshly ground coffee taken on the deck overlooking the Shenandoah and Potocmac Rivers...Awesome. The spacious rooms with king beds and private balcony were welcoming. You WILL hear the blow of the train horns during the night, but it didn't subtract from our stay.

We will go back, again and again!

  • Liked — The view, the impecable inn and the food!
  • Disliked — The noise from the trains but it wasn't enough to detract from our stay.....just a honest notice to travelers.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed here, the 1st week of February. Wonderfully cold outside. Cozy warm fire place, and wine, inside. Beautiful scenary right from the dining room/ living room. Excellent hosts. They do think of everything. Right down to the ornate ice bucket, and Champagne Flutes. A culinary guru for the breakfast chef.

  • Liked — It unique location, and view
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

My parents and I stayed at the Ledge House in November. It is run by a young couple. They were wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable in their beautiful house. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. The views are fantastic! The kitchen was well stocked with food, wine, and coffee/tea and we were served a delicious breakfast. I would absolutely stay here again! We briefly checked out the Hilltop House on our way out and felt we had made definitely made the better choice.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.