We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great view, great hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great price, great view, great hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed in Suite 2 over the weekend for our 4 year anniversary of dating, we had an incredible view of the rivers & train at Harper's Ferry from our private balcony, along with our own on-suite bathroom & plenty of privacy. We also met 2 other great couples staying at the B&B and got a lot of info from our host about where to eat & what to do in town. The room & bathroom were incredible & clean & I can't imagine a better view. Breakfast was also great!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Ledge House was such a lovely place for a weekend getaway--I don't even know where to start! First off, the location is ideal--it is situated on a ledge high above the historic lower town of Harper's Ferry, which means that it has spectacular views (including from several spacious decks), a secluded air, and easy access (barely a five minute walk) to the historic lower town of Harper's Ferry with its attendant museums, shops, and restaurants. Second, the accommodations are beyond reproach--our suite was spacious, clean, and well-appointed, and the bed was so comfortable it made it difficult to get up. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, the proprietors are lovely people--knowledgeable, helpful, and easy-going--not to mention purveyors of fantastic breakfasts! I'd give the Ledge House six stars if I could.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When my boyfriend told me he wanted to take me away to a B&B a few weeks ago, I was secretly horrified (imagining myself sleeping in a room filled with floral wallpaper and Longaberger baskets). Fortunately, this was not the case. In fact, I probably spent a little too much time drooling over the charming yet stylish furniture and decor (the kitchen and living area is stunning). The owner was very friendly and laid back. I also really appreciated the fact that she made a vegetarian-friendly breakfast--a blueberry strata which made me weak in the knees. The rest of the patrons strata was accompanied by bacon to satisfy their meaty desires.

I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the STUNNING view of the mountains, train, and river. I can't say enough good things about my visit here. It was incredibly romantic and beautiful--definitely a great getaway spot! We are already talking about when we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the most expensive suite (#2) and it was WELL worth it. I had the opportunity to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Ledge House is B & B set on a hillside overlooking the river and lower city of Harpers Ferry. The hosts were welcoming and helpful even when we arrived 2 hours after check in due to traffic driving down from Boston. It is a great spot to leave your car and walk down into town, or to Jefferson's Rock - my fiance and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The town of Harper's Ferry is a bit of a museum. Many shops etc. are replicas of a bygone age.

The Ledge House is on the ridge just above the lower town and is a short walk to the Appalachian trail as it intersects the town. The walk down to the town can be on a portion of the Trail as it winds down the hill and by the old church or by a road, which is a bit longer.

Our Suite was large and well designed. A large bath tub, a separate shower just off the sitting room at the entry to the room. The room itself was large and the windows look out to the river valleys below.

Others have commented on the trains, and there are several as the town is the junction of two Rivers and two rail lines. We did not find the trains terribly distracting. And the Views.... just great. See the photos of the snow covered deck. (We did encounter March Snow..)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Such a great way to end a day in harpers ferry, thanks to trip advisor while most restaurants here offer sandwiches and soups Canal House offers great home cooked meals the pork in cider glaze cabbage and potatoes were amazing....the hot jarlsberg cheese and onion appezizer was amazing. The large mug of warm apple cider with our meal on a brisk day hit the spot not to mention the soups. Canal house is on Washington st up the hill worth the walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great Bed and Breakfast in Harpers Ferry. Just a 5 minute walk from all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The room had a very comfortable king size bed and a great balcony with views overlooking the bridges and rivers below. We stayed for two nights and both breakfasts were amazing. Chad and Carrie (the owners) were very nice and friendly. Over all a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.