We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great view, great hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price, great view, great hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed in Suite 2 over the weekend for our 4 year anniversary of dating, we had an incredible view of the rivers & train at Harper's Ferry from our private balcony, along with our own on-suite bathroom & plenty of privacy. We also met 2 other great couples staying at the B&B and got a lot of info from our host about where to eat & what to do in town. The room & bathroom were incredible & clean & I can't imagine a better view. Breakfast was also great!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonicdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Ledge House was such a lovely place for a weekend getaway--I don't even know where to start! First off, the location is ideal--it is situated on a ledge high above the historic lower town of Harper's Ferry, which means that it has spectacular views (including from several spacious decks), a secluded air, and easy access (barely a five minute walk) to the historic lower town of Harper's Ferry with its attendant museums, shops, and restaurants. Second, the accommodations are beyond reproach--our suite was spacious, clean, and well-appointed, and the bed was so comfortable it made it difficult to get up. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, the proprietors are lovely people--knowledgeable, helpful, and easy-going--not to mention purveyors of fantastic breakfasts! I'd give the Ledge House six stars if I could.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When my boyfriend told me he wanted to take me away to a B&B a few weeks ago, I was secretly horrified (imagining myself sleeping in a room filled with floral wallpaper and Longaberger baskets). Fortunately, this was not the case. In fact, I probably spent a little too much time drooling over the charming yet stylish furniture and decor (the kitchen and living area is stunning). The owner was very friendly and laid back. I also really appreciated the fact that she made a vegetarian-friendly breakfast--a blueberry strata which made me weak in the knees. The rest of the patrons strata was accompanied by bacon to satisfy their meaty desires.

I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the STUNNING view of the mountains, train, and river. I can't say enough good things about my visit here. It was incredibly romantic and beautiful--definitely a great getaway spot! We are already talking about when we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the most expensive suite (#2) and it was WELL worth it. I had the opportunity to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Ledge House is B & B set on a hillside overlooking the river and lower city of Harpers Ferry. The hosts were welcoming and helpful even when we arrived 2 hours after check in due to traffic driving down from Boston. It is a great spot to leave your car and walk down into town, or to Jefferson's Rock - my fiance and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The town of Harper's Ferry is a bit of a museum. Many shops etc. are replicas of a bygone age.

The Ledge House is on the ridge just above the lower town and is a short walk to the Appalachian trail as it intersects the town. The walk down to the town can be on a portion of the Trail as it winds down the hill and by the old church or by a road, which is a bit longer.

Our Suite was large and well designed. A large bath tub, a separate shower just off the sitting room at the entry to the room. The room itself was large and the windows look out to the river valleys below.

Others have commented on the trains, and there are several as the town is the junction of two Rivers and two rail lines. We did not find the trains terribly distracting. And the Views.... just great. See the photos of the snow covered deck. (We did encounter March Snow..)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Such a great way to end a day in harpers ferry, thanks to trip advisor while most restaurants here offer sandwiches and soups Canal House offers great home cooked meals the pork in cider glaze cabbage and potatoes were amazing....the hot jarlsberg cheese and onion appezizer was amazing. The large mug of warm apple cider with our meal on a brisk day hit the spot not to mention the soups. Canal house is on Washington st up the hill worth the walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Akbjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great Bed and Breakfast in Harpers Ferry. Just a 5 minute walk from all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The room had a very comfortable king size bed and a great balcony with views overlooking the bridges and rivers below. We stayed for two nights and both breakfasts were amazing. Chad and Carrie (the owners) were very nice and friendly. Over all a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#