We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Hosts and Stunning Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Helpful Hosts and Stunning Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Ledge House is B & B set on a hillside overlooking the river and lower city of Harpers Ferry. The hosts were welcoming and helpful even when we arrived 2 hours after check in due to traffic driving down from Boston. It is a great spot to leave your car and walk down into town, or to Jefferson's Rock - my fiance and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, Calif
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The town of Harper's Ferry is a bit of a museum. Many shops etc. are replicas of a bygone age.

The Ledge House is on the ridge just above the lower town and is a short walk to the Appalachian trail as it intersects the town. The walk down to the town can be on a portion of the Trail as it winds down the hill and by the old church or by a road, which is a bit longer.

Our Suite was large and well designed. A large bath tub, a separate shower just off the sitting room at the entry to the room. The room itself was large and the windows look out to the river valleys below.

Others have commented on the trains, and there are several as the town is the junction of two Rivers and two rail lines. We did not find the trains terribly distracting. And the Views.... just great. See the photos of the snow covered deck. (We did encounter March Snow..)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Such a great way to end a day in harpers ferry, thanks to trip advisor while most restaurants here offer sandwiches and soups Canal House offers great home cooked meals the pork in cider glaze cabbage and potatoes were amazing....the hot jarlsberg cheese and onion appezizer was amazing. The large mug of warm apple cider with our meal on a brisk day hit the spot not to mention the soups. Canal house is on Washington st up the hill worth the walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great Bed and Breakfast in Harpers Ferry. Just a 5 minute walk from all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. The room had a very comfortable king size bed and a great balcony with views overlooking the bridges and rivers below. We stayed for two nights and both breakfasts were amazing. Chad and Carrie (the owners) were very nice and friendly. Over all a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Ledge House in Room 3, the smallest of the 3 rooms available. It was lovely to lie in bed looking out onto the river gorge and feel the cool mountain air floating in over you from the windows at the head of the bed. However, no one has mentioned the numerous trains that run across the river and through the mountain tunnel in the viewshed of this B&B, including all through the night. The trains are required to sound their horn 3 times at this crossing. It is very loud! Don't expect to sleep through this if you are not used to it--perhaps with the windows closed and a/c running on high-? Otherwise, the house, the host, the view, the food,... all were lovely. Breakfast was hearty, homemade, fresh and the host was willing to accomodate food requests.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If I had to imagine the perfect B&B, this would be it! The owners were friendly, warm, and welcoming. I loved my spacious, clean, and attractively decorated room. I also liked that this B&B had a more relaxed style and not the overly frilly decor that a lot of B&Bs have. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom spacious and ultra-clean. The views were outstanding and the location at the top of a hill overlooking the town and the rivers was so peaceful. My room overlooked a koi pond with a fountain and I loved the sound of water at night. I will definitely return here and recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet, peaceful, beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I went to the Ledge House for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. I have to say that the views from the breakfast table, and outside deck were really awesome. When we arrived we were surprised to find out that we could not lock our doors. The keepers assured us that we had nothing to worry about, and we didn't, it was just odd to hear coming from city living. :).. We had breakfast both mornings. If you have dietary restrictions be sure to wake up early to tell them. My wife and i have a pretty restrictive eating style so to base breakfast on us would be a little unfair.

We had suite 1 which had it's own private bathroom. The room was a nice room, with a comfy bed. The sun coming up over the mountains though will serve as your alarm clock, as there is no blind or dark curtain on the door in your room so, either plan on waking up early, or, bring a mask for sleeping ;).. The bathroom in our room had a distinct smell of cat, so if you are not a cat lover be sure to try the other rooms. I am not sure if this always the case, but it was constant for our two nights there.

The proximity to the lower town was really nice. If you are planning on visiting lower town, I would just leave your vehicle parked at the house, and navigate through the adjacent cemetery, down the steps to the Appalachian trail and head south. If you want a great view, and some exercise take the Maryland heights hike. It is about 6-7 miles round trip, and it is probably 15 degree grade all the way up, but once you are there.... it is very worth it.

Room Tip: I would try room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.