We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If I had to imagine the perfect B&B, this would be it! The owners were friendly, warm, and welcoming. I loved my spacious, clean, and attractively decorated room. I also liked that this B&B had a more relaxed style and not the overly frilly decor that a lot of B&Bs have. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom spacious and ultra-clean. The views were outstanding and the location at the top of a hill overlooking the town and the rivers was so peaceful. My room overlooked a koi pond with a fountain and I loved the sound of water at night. I will definitely return here and recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet, peaceful, beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I went to the Ledge House for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. I have to say that the views from the breakfast table, and outside deck were really awesome. When we arrived we were surprised to find out that we could not lock our doors. The keepers assured us that we had nothing to worry about, and we didn't, it was just odd to hear coming from city living. :).. We had breakfast both mornings. If you have dietary restrictions be sure to wake up early to tell them. My wife and i have a pretty restrictive eating style so to base breakfast on us would be a little unfair.

We had suite 1 which had it's own private bathroom. The room was a nice room, with a comfy bed. The sun coming up over the mountains though will serve as your alarm clock, as there is no blind or dark curtain on the door in your room so, either plan on waking up early, or, bring a mask for sleeping ;).. The bathroom in our room had a distinct smell of cat, so if you are not a cat lover be sure to try the other rooms. I am not sure if this always the case, but it was constant for our two nights there.

The proximity to the lower town was really nice. If you are planning on visiting lower town, I would just leave your vehicle parked at the house, and navigate through the adjacent cemetery, down the steps to the Appalachian trail and head south. If you want a great view, and some exercise take the Maryland heights hike. It is about 6-7 miles round trip, and it is probably 15 degree grade all the way up, but once you are there.... it is very worth it.

Room Tip: I would try room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The views off the deck of the Ledge House might just take your breath away. The property overlooks historic Harper's Ferry and offers a panorama that includes the intersection of the rivers, the railroad bridge and the Maryland Heights. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious and the atmosphere is absolutely relaxing. This feels light years removed from DC, though it's only an hour away by train.

The same folks own the Canal House restaurant, a quiet BYOB place that's just up the street. We had an excellent dinner on the patio there as a gentleman plucked away on an acoustic guitar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

my husband and i stayed in suite 3 of this B&B during a wedding weekend. i have since read most of the reviews, and i will say that several of the little pet peeves others had about this place have been addressed. particularly the living space - the owners now have a separate living room/kitchen, so that is a non issue. also, my husband is allergic to cats, but had little to no issues in our room.

the pros:
-great location
-beautiful views (from suite 3)
-extremely comfortable bed
-large bathrooms in suite 1 and 2 (we peeked)
-yummy breakfast

the cons:
-the train, though cool, runs right past the house every few hours and is LOUD
-difficult to find, as there are two roads with same name - i got lost and have a fairly good sense of direction
-check in times are a small window (they are willing to check you in late, but it doesn't seem to be preferable for them)

Pro for some/Con for others:
we found the owners to be friendly, laid back, willing to sit and chat, interesting, and very hands off. some would love that, others may not. this is not a luxury hotel... its a quaint bed and breakfast in West Virginia, so they do not lock doors - we didn't have an issue with this, but others may; the house is old and has character, so its a little "squeaky"; there are few, but lovely, choices for breakfast and you eat with the other guests - luckily we had very kind housemates.

we thought of it as staying with very hospitable friends of friends.... that isn't for everyone, but we enjoyed it.

(bring toiletries...)

Room Tip: suite 1 - separate entrance, big bathroom, not great view suite 2 - mediocre view, nice and big bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The best part was the view from the deck. However, everything else was average/mediocre or just terrible. The room was OK although it would be nice with blinds. The bathroom was quite 1970s. It smelled moldy, the tub was cracked, and amenities just barely acceptable (shampoo taken from other hotels). The food was OK but certainly nothing special and not B&B standard. The worst was the owners. They were impossible to get a hold of to make the reservation in the first place. They did not have any information about the area (as typical for B&Bs) and they charged us the wrong price (which they corrected). The website contains minimal information and did not include the key information that there are two streets in town that have nearly identical names (so we went to the wrong street). Finally, they became enraged when we did not keep their dog inside despite the fact that they had not mentioned that they had a dog or what the rules are regarding their dog (they became so mad that they made move our cars cars from their parking lot where they had said they could stay while we were in town). Overall, not worth the money and the dog/move your cars episode was a very unpleasant end to our stay there.

Room Tip: The trains are very very loud all through the night. It probably does not matter which room you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I just spent a couple of days at Canal House Cottage.

Pro: Canal House Cottage could be lovely and private. It was very clean.

Con: It has a terrible view of the back of a cafe. The real problem is that it just did not seem to be well maintained - burned out lights, non-functioning DVD player, no way to find out the password for the internet, no soap in the bathroom, no heat, etc. But what makes this a bad review is the fact that they just would not give us toilet paper.

When we arrived, we told the proprietor, Carrie, that there was no toilet paper. She apologized and said she'd send someone right over with some. 5 hours later, we begged the Canal House Cafe for a roll of toilet paper. They apologized and promised to get word to Carrie that we needed more. The next day: still no toilet paper. We spoke to one woman on the phone and left a message on Carrie's voice mail. No one ever even called us back.

Some amenities are luxuries - some, like toilet paper, are necessities. There is nothing romantic about saying, "Honey, I need to go into town so I'll have something to wipe with." Maybe we caught them on an off day?

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you plan on bringing all of your supplies (down to the toilet paper) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the Canal House Cottage which isn't right in downtown Harpers Ferry, but it was still wonderful. The place is cozy and comfortable, and the kitchen appliances are all in great shape. What we liked best was that from beginning to end we were left totally alone, which isn't necessarily what some people look for in a B&B, but to us it felt like a true retreat. And we parked literally ten feet from the front door. Oh also, the jacuzzi bathtub was awesome.

Room Tip: Canal House cottage all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.