We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal House Cottage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Canal House Cottage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I just spent a couple of days at Canal House Cottage.

Pro: Canal House Cottage could be lovely and private. It was very clean.

Con: It has a terrible view of the back of a cafe. The real problem is that it just did not seem to be well maintained - burned out lights, non-functioning DVD player, no way to find out the password for the internet, no soap in the bathroom, no heat, etc. But what makes this a bad review is the fact that they just would not give us toilet paper.

When we arrived, we told the proprietor, Carrie, that there was no toilet paper. She apologized and said she'd send someone right over with some. 5 hours later, we begged the Canal House Cafe for a roll of toilet paper. They apologized and promised to get word to Carrie that we needed more. The next day: still no toilet paper. We spoke to one woman on the phone and left a message on Carrie's voice mail. No one ever even called us back.

Some amenities are luxuries - some, like toilet paper, are necessities. There is nothing romantic about saying, "Honey, I need to go into town so I'll have something to wipe with." Maybe we caught them on an off day?

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you plan on bringing all of your supplies (down to the toilet paper) with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UnpackYourAdjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the Canal House Cottage which isn't right in downtown Harpers Ferry, but it was still wonderful. The place is cozy and comfortable, and the kitchen appliances are all in great shape. What we liked best was that from beginning to end we were left totally alone, which isn't necessarily what some people look for in a B&B, but to us it felt like a true retreat. And we parked literally ten feet from the front door. Oh also, the jacuzzi bathtub was awesome.

Room Tip: Canal House cottage all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I spent our 10th anniversary here and had a fantastic time. The room was wonderful and the food was great. Sitting out on the deck overlooking the river and the training tacks was magnificent. The location of the house is just up the hill from down town Harpers Ferry. Just walk through the cemetery to Jefferson Rock and the down the Appalachian Trail and you are in town. No driving necessary.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, I think it is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kremere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked a room at the Ledge House for a girls' weekend, and the hosts were nice enough to relax the two-day minimum rule (which no other B&Bs in the area were willing to do). Unfortunately, we hadn't discussed the number of guests allowed, since the booking was done over phone, and were one too many for their double-bed suite. They immediately offered us accommodation in another of their properties close by (The Butler Burell House), which was a charming little cottage, very cozy, clean and spacious. We had a splendid time! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocochai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A few weeks back, a bunch of us were looking for a peaceful weekend getaway in the valley. We chose the Ledge house as it seemed like a quite place set in a serene backdrop.
It was such a pleasant feeling to find the place as picturesque as it was made to look in the pictures online. I would give the owners +10 for their hospitality and accommodating nature.
Thanks to them for making our stay so comfortable! I highly recommend the ledge house as a weekend retreat option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_yam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent place, really friendly place. Cozy and comfortable, plenty of amenities. They've thought of everything. Highly recommended for friends'/family get togethers. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeBean_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

What a pleasant experience! This little place has three suites with excellent set ups (the one we stayed in had it's own patio) and a hiker's breakfast. The people who own it are a family of 4, though the kids are quiet as door mice. The view from the house is beautiful, with clear views of the river confluence and crag. Air conditioning is totally taken care of. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Typhoofcm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing