We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it - great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in the Canal House Cottage which isn't right in downtown Harpers Ferry, but it was still wonderful. The place is cozy and comfortable, and the kitchen appliances are all in great shape. What we liked best was that from beginning to end we were left totally alone, which isn't necessarily what some people look for in a B&B, but to us it felt like a true retreat. And we parked literally ten feet from the front door. Oh also, the jacuzzi bathtub was awesome.

Room Tip: Canal House cottage all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I spent our 10th anniversary here and had a fantastic time. The room was wonderful and the food was great. Sitting out on the deck overlooking the river and the training tacks was magnificent. The location of the house is just up the hill from down town Harpers Ferry. Just walk through the cemetery to Jefferson Rock and the down the Appalachian Trail and you are in town. No driving necessary.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, I think it is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked a room at the Ledge House for a girls' weekend, and the hosts were nice enough to relax the two-day minimum rule (which no other B&Bs in the area were willing to do). Unfortunately, we hadn't discussed the number of guests allowed, since the booking was done over phone, and were one too many for their double-bed suite. They immediately offered us accommodation in another of their properties close by (The Butler Burell House), which was a charming little cottage, very cozy, clean and spacious. We had a splendid time! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A few weeks back, a bunch of us were looking for a peaceful weekend getaway in the valley. We chose the Ledge house as it seemed like a quite place set in a serene backdrop.
It was such a pleasant feeling to find the place as picturesque as it was made to look in the pictures online. I would give the owners +10 for their hospitality and accommodating nature.
Thanks to them for making our stay so comfortable! I highly recommend the ledge house as a weekend retreat option.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Excellent place, really friendly place. Cozy and comfortable, plenty of amenities. They've thought of everything. Highly recommended for friends'/family get togethers. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

What a pleasant experience! This little place has three suites with excellent set ups (the one we stayed in had it's own patio) and a hiker's breakfast. The people who own it are a family of 4, though the kids are quiet as door mice. The view from the house is beautiful, with clear views of the river confluence and crag. Air conditioning is totally taken care of. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

i booked this trip for me and two of my girlfriends. when making the reservation, i asked if we could have an extra guest and they said it was fine, no problem. we showed up to breakfast the first day and they were one plate short! and then it wasn't until i was checking out that i was told there was a fee for an extra person. i have no problem paying more for an extra person and expected that, but i felt that i should have been told earlier.

other than that, the place was really cute and comfortable with amazing views. the bed was super comfy and i slept great, as did my friend. the bathroom wasn't attached to the room, but we didn't care seeing as it was still our bathroom. there WAS shampoo/condition and soap provided. there were locks on the doorknobs but we weren't given a key, which we also didn't really care about. the breakfasts were delicious. everything is within walking distance.

a fantastic place to stay in harpers ferry, especially considering it's the least expensive b&b i saw. i assume they don't have many extra guests, but it would be nice if they had a rollaway bed or something like the other b&b's do. really great place overall, just felt a little uncomfortable with the things mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.