We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice in Harper's Ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent choice in Harper's Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

If you are looking for a friendly, comfortable, informal little B&B with a superb view and convenient location in a very cute small town, you can't do better than the Ledge House. We plan to stay there next time we're in the area (from CT), and our mid-20s kids (from DC) do, too.
Occasional trains rumble and hoot along the river below. This didn't bother us at all, but those with train phobia probably won't want to stay here-- or anywhere else in this little RR town.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
4
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

Final impression was very positive, especially for the price. No, this is not a luxourious B&B, but it was clean, well kept, and did afford fantastic views. Also, there were many specials such as a large amount of space and use of the middle level of the house (kitchen, living area, and deck) - the couple running the B&B lives on the lower level. Breakfast was also excellent. It was a very hot day, esp for Oct, but the ceiling fan and A/C in the bedroom (we had the one on the upper floor) kept the room very comfortable.
Hopefully you are reading this review after the one dated Oct. 21. Yes, I also had some contact problems: the written e-mail confirmation was not sent out right away and I was unable to contact them by phone for several days (they were out of town over the weekend and their voice mail filled up). But confirmation was provided, and they were there to welcome us. Yes, a few things had to be requested such as a glass for the bathroom, but the husband and wife were very responsive and considerate.
One other thing: On driving to the B&B, I recommend that you take Gilmore and then Filmore streets off of Washington St and then go down a short but steep hill (get or print a map if possible). If you come in Henry Clay St (there is also a Clay St - don't take that) it is a daunting experience as you initially pass a house with junk cars out front and Henry Clay is so narrow that two cars cannot pass.
If you keep an open mind as I did, you may find this is truely a diamond in the rough and a very special experience. Finally, there is a cat and a dog; since I enjoy pets this was also a positive experience (being a cat person myself, I loved holding the cat in my lap). I am also allergic to too many dogs or cats, but did not experience any allergy problems here.

  • Liked — Beautiful views and large amount of living space available to us
  • Disliked — Streets leading into the B%B
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Was almost impossible to reach by phone to make a reservation (that should have been my warning).

First the good: Breakfast was great.
One of our couples stayed in the main house and said the bed in room 1 was really, really good. The view from the deck was great.
Woodburning fireplace in cottage.

Now the bad:
Dogs and cats (allergy sufferers beware!)
People hair and leftover soap in bathtubs.
No kleenex, toiletries, little touches in either location. No TV listing guide.
Promised appetizers never showed.
Contacted innkeeper .... took 3 hours to get a reply (see problem above with making reservation)

We stayed in...hahah...the River View Cottage. Now, one would assume this would have a "view" right? WRONG!

Not to mention you either have to drive back to the house...OR...climb a very steep hill that would be impassable in any condition other than very dry.

Overpriced for underservice.

I've stayed in far better B&B's....and won't be staying in this one again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
529 helpful votes 529 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My wife and I used to have a B&B, but this was my first time as a guest. I like my privacy. I walked through the front entrance of the Ledge House B&B and my heart stopped. The view was truly unbelievable. The photos on their web site don't do them justice. Warm and genuine innkeepers. Wine and some great snacks were ready on our arrival and the full breakfast of juice, sausage, eggs and peach & blueberry crepes with freshly ground coffee taken on the deck overlooking the Shenandoah and Potocmac Rivers...Awesome. The spacious rooms with king beds and private balcony were welcoming. You WILL hear the blow of the train horns during the night, but it didn't subtract from our stay.

We will go back, again and again!

  • Liked — The view, the impecable inn and the food!
  • Disliked — The noise from the trains but it wasn't enough to detract from our stay.....just a honest notice to travelers.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed here, the 1st week of February. Wonderfully cold outside. Cozy warm fire place, and wine, inside. Beautiful scenary right from the dining room/ living room. Excellent hosts. They do think of everything. Right down to the ornate ice bucket, and Champagne Flutes. A culinary guru for the breakfast chef.

  • Liked — It unique location, and view
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

My parents and I stayed at the Ledge House in November. It is run by a young couple. They were wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable in their beautiful house. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. The views are fantastic! The kitchen was well stocked with food, wine, and coffee/tea and we were served a delicious breakfast. I would absolutely stay here again! We briefly checked out the Hilltop House on our way out and felt we had made definitely made the better choice.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.