We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long on Promises, Short on Execution” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, LA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Long on Promises, Short on Execution”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Was almost impossible to reach by phone to make a reservation (that should have been my warning).

First the good: Breakfast was great.
One of our couples stayed in the main house and said the bed in room 1 was really, really good. The view from the deck was great.
Woodburning fireplace in cottage.

Now the bad:
Dogs and cats (allergy sufferers beware!)
People hair and leftover soap in bathtubs.
No kleenex, toiletries, little touches in either location. No TV listing guide.
Promised appetizers never showed.
Contacted innkeeper .... took 3 hours to get a reply (see problem above with making reservation)

We stayed in...hahah...the River View Cottage. Now, one would assume this would have a "view" right? WRONG!

Not to mention you either have to drive back to the house...OR...climb a very steep hill that would be impassable in any condition other than very dry.

Overpriced for underservice.

I've stayed in far better B&B's....and won't be staying in this one again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
470 reviews 470 reviews
44 hotel reviews
560 helpful votes 560 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My wife and I used to have a B&B, but this was my first time as a guest. I like my privacy. I walked through the front entrance of the Ledge House B&B and my heart stopped. The view was truly unbelievable. The photos on their web site don't do them justice. Warm and genuine innkeepers. Wine and some great snacks were ready on our arrival and the full breakfast of juice, sausage, eggs and peach & blueberry crepes with freshly ground coffee taken on the deck overlooking the Shenandoah and Potocmac Rivers...Awesome. The spacious rooms with king beds and private balcony were welcoming. You WILL hear the blow of the train horns during the night, but it didn't subtract from our stay.

We will go back, again and again!

  • Liked — The view, the impecable inn and the food!
  • Disliked — The noise from the trains but it wasn't enough to detract from our stay.....just a honest notice to travelers.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed here, the 1st week of February. Wonderfully cold outside. Cozy warm fire place, and wine, inside. Beautiful scenary right from the dining room/ living room. Excellent hosts. They do think of everything. Right down to the ornate ice bucket, and Champagne Flutes. A culinary guru for the breakfast chef.

  • Liked — It unique location, and view
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

My parents and I stayed at the Ledge House in November. It is run by a young couple. They were wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable in their beautiful house. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. The views are fantastic! The kitchen was well stocked with food, wine, and coffee/tea and we were served a delicious breakfast. I would absolutely stay here again! We briefly checked out the Hilltop House on our way out and felt we had made definitely made the better choice.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 280 Henry Clay Street, PO Box 681, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly The Ledge House & Canal House)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the famous Harpers Ferry Gap from our balconies and decks. Spacious suites with private bathrooms, king sized beds, sitting rooms, and cable. Fire place in the common area. The Ledge House is in Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike the C&O Canal, Raft the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers. Taste wine country. Inquire about Vacation rentals and short-term rentals. Government per diem honored. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ledge House & Canal House Cottage Hotel Harpers Ferry
The Ledge House And Canal House Cottage

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.