We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Six Tavern - CLOSED

Secret Six Tavern
186 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-3044
Improve this listing
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“DON'T GO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Worst dinner I have ever had in my entire life. If you do decide to go there, go use the restroom and peak in the kitchen first, you might change your mind. It took 30 minutes to get menu's, we were given the lunch menu's so everything was more expensive than we thought when we got the bill. The wine was awful and overpriced, and drinks took another 20 minutes to come out. My burger was overdone, overpriced, and on a cheap roll that fell apart as I tried to eat it because it was so old and grease soaked. My wife's pasta was almost crunchy and came out wrong, then took 15 minutes to come out right, while I ate. The wine is out of a cheap jug. Overall for dinner and drinks it took 2.5 hours, then we had to go inside and wait in line again to pay. We were offered a discount on our awful meal, negotiated a bigger discount, and still felt cheated. Worst of all both my wife and I felt sick the entire next morning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    17
    10
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great servers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've eaten lunch at this facility at least 10 times. My favorites are the burgers, the Cobb salad, and the steak and cheese. Add to the good food, the friendly, helpful staff, both servers and cook and you have the perfect lunch. Beautiful view also!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place for a craft beer and a burger.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Neat place, real wood paneling. Named for the men who helped fund John Brown's raid. They had some tap beers from a craft brewery Mountain State Brewing Co. Good Beer!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Secret it's min business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

visted this summer....it should probably be re-named Secret SUX !!!....the Secret is perhaps how this place stays in business..a boling hot day in August stopped to cool off & have a beer & appetizer...it was nearly empty other then one other table..sat there for 10 minutes before barmaid/server got off her cell to start moving
back toward our table..when I dared to ask if I could order a beer she curtly informed she "neede to take care of her other table first" !!! ....when we attempted to order an appetizer...one of the 4 items listed the server informed us thet were out of tortilla chips for the salsa...really????...my son ended up ordering mozzarella sticks which
were fresh out of the freezer..managed to get one beer...while the "server" kibitzed in the back with the "cook"....saw the group at the other table having a similar experience..both tables laughed as some more hapless tourists rolled in unknowing
of the "experience" that was awaiting them at the Secret SUX !!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I were at Harpers Ferry for the day and stopped into the Secret Six for a quick bite. We were seated immediately on the deck in the sun. Meagan was our server (sweet and very attentive). The food wasn't the most amazing thing I've ever eaten, but it's a pub and it's good pub food.

Highly recommend for a quick bite and a beer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Six Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Six Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.