We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Cafe

Country Cafe
1715 W. Washington St., Harpers Ferry, WV
304/535-2327
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Woodbridge, NJ, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice local spot for breakfast with freshly prepared food. Friendly service. They also sell used books if you're so inclined.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    20
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy I stopped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Passing through Harper's Ferry a little after 12 noon on Tuesday, I decided to stop at the Country Cafe. Inside, I found a clean, open dining room with tables for two to six people. There were about eight people there when I went in. The waitress quickly greeted me, explained the daily special and took my order. The menu listed mostly sandwiches, soups and salads, all were well described and all sounded good. I chose the hot ham and Swiss sandwich and coffee.
The waitress brought coffee immediately. It came in a large mug, was hot and was very good.
The food also came out quickly, was freshly prepared,and attractively presented. The ham was a good quality baked ham, and the Swiss cheese was ample and nicely melted. Fresh lettuce and a slice of ripe tomato completed the sandwich; all on a toasted, firm-textured sesame seed roll, lightly spread with mayonnaise. It came with potato chips and a dill pickle spear. My bill was less than $8.00.
I am happy I decided to try this restaurant, and will stop again when near Harper's Ferry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch in a relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were just passing through the area and decided to stop here for lunch. They have a good selection of sandwiches, soups, and salads. I believe everything is homemade. We were completely satisfied with the food, the service, and the prices. I would definitely stop in again if we're in the area again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Small cozy little place serving an excellent breakfast. We had omlets and french toast. Both were very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very friendly staff. They were a little busy on the weekend so the food didn't come out fast, but they were upfront about that, and the food was good when it arrived. Good value.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cafe also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.