We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Anvil Restaurant

The Anvil Restaurant
1290 W. Washington Street, P.O. Box 707, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
+1 304-535-2582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Casual dining in a rustic atmosphere. Established in 1985, local produce featured in season. OPEN Wednesday - Sunday 11am to 9pm, bar and slots open later. Will open for private parties of 40 or more on Monday or Tuesday. Private rooms available for groups small to 100 inside. Tented patio for special outdoor events up to 150
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was typical bar food, friendly waitstaff. Seemed like a local hangout. The food was decent, best of the trip. We got almost kicked out very early, but that seemed typical of the entire town. Good for a lunch or a simple dinner. Not too noisy for being there at 8:30 on a Friday night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    53
    31
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go At the Dinner Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went at lunchtime and there wasn't much to offer. But it looked as though another room was open and that they had options for their dinner menu.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A wonderful stop for a quiet dinner with the wife. Great service, plentiful food that was very good and the all you can eat peel and eat shrimp was a hit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband I were part of a tour to Harpers Ferry, which included a lunch for our group of about 60 people at The Anvil. I must say the lunch was good, we had three entree choices, the service was excellent and the food was very good. We would most likely go back. It exceeded our expectations. No easy task to serve a large group such as ours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After my wife and I toured Harpers Ferry we were looking for a place for dinner and the very pleasant young lady at the front desk of our motel recommended the Anvil. We were not disappointed. We both ordered prime rib which was one of the three specials that night. It was done exactly to the medium rare that we ordered and was a generous and tasty cut, and along with the salad and baked potato was an ample meal. The service was outstanding and the dining room nicely decorated and comfortable. The prices are very reasonable and worth a try if you are in this area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anvil Restaurant also viewed

Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 
Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to The Anvil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anvil Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.