We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Tavern & Grill

Vista Tavern & Grill
4328 William L Wilson Fwy, Harpers Ferry, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 19 Restaurants in Harpers Ferry
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Riverside, Illinois, United States
1 review
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is rural country so, in my opinion, there are not a lot of options. Service and food were good. My son had ribs, hubby steak and I had scallops and all were cooked well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I, like some other reviewers on here, was quite surprised at how good this place was! We had a restaurant.com coupon and gave it a try for lunch. We seated ourselves at a booth and were the only ones in the dining room- quite a few people were seated at the bar though. Our waitress was friendly and attentive- she kept me in iced tea which always scores a bonus with me. I had fried scallops with a baked potato- really, really good. This restaurant is focused on seafood, but my husband had a buffalo chicken wrap with fries and it was good as well. We will definitely be repeat customers as we live in town and I am a seafood lover : ) Also, step out into the hotel lobby if you are a history buff like I am. You will appreciate the paintings that document Harper's Ferry's founders, flood, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to dinner at Vista Tavern this past weekend when we visited Harpers Ferry based on other tripadvisor recommendations. The menu is primarily seafood (crab, shrimp, etc.) with only a couple of non-fish entrees. Sandwiches offer more of a selection but if you are allergic to or not a fan of seafood, choices may be limited. Although the dining room was almost full, there was not a line waiting to be seated but it was busy. We were able to seat ourselves and the waitress eventually came to our table. There were several missteps and forgotten items. The kitchen didn't seem to know their menu either and what went with entrees. When we did get our food, it was good (grilled swordfish was fresh and tasty). Unfortunately service was not very efficient and staff did not seem to work together to help each other. May have been a bad night but I wouldn't hurry back there should I visit the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Even though it was located in the Quality Inn the food was good and the service was also quick and cordial. Nice menu choices.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Average ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover. There is amazing food and service served here! We had the Rack of Ribs and NY Strip and both were delicious. Very tender and cooked properly. Their home made dressings are also wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Tavern & Grill also viewed

Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to Vista Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.