We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mac from Toronto is Right (See Below).” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Six Tavern - CLOSED

Secret Six Tavern
186 High St, Harpers Ferry, WV
304-535-1159
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mac from Toronto is Right (See Below).”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

He/she said, "You literally almost walk into the semi scary looking kitchen to get to the washrooms." He/she didn't mention that the bathrooms were grungy and that the cook appeared to be a 17 year old kid in draggy shorts. The BBQ seemed to come from a can. The silverware was grungy. The table was sticky.

But the beer was great, the view pretty good, and the beams in the ceiling appeared to be original axe-hewn oak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great view with average tastes....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice restaurant on the main streets of Harpers Ferry. The menu was simple, regularly listed pub fair. The burgers were tasty and the pasta was plentiful. The quanity of frys with the sandwiches and burgers I felt was lacking. Prices were average considering you are in a national park area. The view sitting on the back deck was great. Diners overload the referbished 1800s train station and confluence of the two rivers. Parking can be very difficult if you arrive on a tourist driven day. If needed there is a parking area with a shuttle bus the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
1 review
“Good Beer and Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I go here every time we get the chance to go into downtown. We always enjoy the great view from their outside deck while enjoying their great selection of beers. Although we usually just have appetizers and drinks we do occasional also have dinner which has always been good. Our servers have always been extremely nice as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeley WV
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Eat outside on the deck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch while touring Harpers Ferry with BFF. Service was pleasant but somewhat absent minded. Cheeseburgers and fries were good, really enjoyed the local draft beers. Interesting view overlooking the river and train station. I think we would not have enjoyed lunch quite so much if we had eaten inside.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and lacklustre service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice patio. Prices are reasonable but this place looks like they've given up. It is dirty and disorganized. You literally almost walk into the semi scary looking kitchen to get to the washrooms. The decor looks tired and it has all the hallmarks of a place that is coasting. They lost our order and then told us they would comp a round. When we got the bill they had discounted our dismal food by a dollar for each entree instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Six Tavern also viewed

Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Six Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.