We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Food was Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Town's Inn

The Town's Inn
179 High St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-1860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Food was Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had 6 adults and 6 teens and this was the only place we could sit down and have lunch without a wait. We had multiple people help with the service and our food came out in reasonable time, although at different times, which turned out to be good since we were hungry. We did arrive after the lunch rush (around 2pm). The food was simple; and I do mean simple. The hamburger was just meat on a bun. No toppings, no sides of fries, nothing; although they did bring out condiments later. Same was true for other dishes. I had crab cakes which seemed frozen and had odd spices, like you might get with a salmon cake.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    34
    27
    19
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited the Town Inn today for lunch. Took forever to get seated by a mumbling old lady. Another old lady finally took our order, then forgot to bring us our beverages. Other people at nearby tables were commenting about how long it was taking to get the check. Food finally came. My husband had a shepherd's pie that turned out to be a tiny bowl of tasteless meat topped with some mashed potatoes. Mine was a pulled pork sandwich with meat so dry I had to choke it down with BBQ sauce. Waitress realized she forgot the drinks and told us they were on the house. People at another table got their whole order on the house because their ticket had been lost and they had been waiting for their food forever. I asked for the check early on, but it still took twenty minutes for it to arrive. We noticed that it was too high - we had been charged adult portion price for our two kids' meals. As a couple of new guests showed up at the door wondering whether to eat there, we signaled them to LEAVE while they still could...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Improved food amidst a friendly setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The restaurant and B&B are now under new ownership and the food has improved a lot. They went out of their way to accommodate our individual preferences. All of the staff were friendly and took extra time to speak with us about the town and our visit. There is an outdoor garden in the back which is a wonderful setting for a romantic meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We didn't stay in the inn but ate a couple of suppers there. The food was comfort food - delicious and all quite fresh, much of it locally sourced -- and the wine quite respectable. But best of all were the staff: Jill, Debbie & Chuck in particular were naturally warm and helpful without being intrusive. Loved it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We ate at the town's Inn on more than one occasion. They are open early and they close late! The staff is friendly and very nice and the menu is reasonably priced!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town's Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.