We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Town's Inn

The Town's Inn
179 High St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-1860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
St. Michaels, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Went with friends, and enjoyed the atmosphere. The food is average, and the beer cold. The kitchen added extra wings to our order because there were 4 of us, and they didn't charge us extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    20
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Va.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“accommodating and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our group of 20 stopped in unexpectedly and the staff was more than willing to serve us quickly so we could get to our scheduled tour. We were a challenge with 20 adults and kids, but the young waitresses did a great job serving us and the food (lunch fare) was above average even if it was only sandwiches and chips. (They do serve supper entree's as well.) Good place to stop for a bite if you're in HF.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had dinner and lunch here, it wasn't great but it wasn't bad. A mistake was made on our order at dinner and they promptly made up for it without discussion.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Above-average food in a friendly setting with excellent local beers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I both ordered the trout dinner with French onion soup and salad. I also tried both of the local beers: a stout, and the "Almost Heaven" amber ale. The ale was excellent, and the food was pretty good. There was a guitar available to play (and even a soprano recorder), so I did so. The waiters were quite helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good dinner, bad breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a pretty decent dinner here. I had a blackened chicken with veggies and French onion soup as a starter and all were great. Prices for the entrees averaged about 15 or 16 dollars, which is steep for what it is, but I found was in line with most of the restaurants in town that cater to tourists. They also have an excellent selection of local beers on tap, including an awesome oatmeal stout. We returned the next morning for breakfast however this experience was not as enjoyable. I had a rather small and sad looking portion of scrambled eggs, potatoes and toast for $12. Also ordered a side of biscuits which were definitely store bought and came overly microwaved. Yikes...get me to a Waffle House!!! As noted by other reviewers, this place is your only option for breakfast in the lower town as no place else opens before about 11:00, so if you're staying in the lower town without a car, you might want to bring a few granola bars to tide you over until lunch time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town's Inn also viewed

 
Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.