We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner, bad breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Town's Inn

The Town's Inn
179 High St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
304-535-1860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good dinner, bad breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a pretty decent dinner here. I had a blackened chicken with veggies and French onion soup as a starter and all were great. Prices for the entrees averaged about 15 or 16 dollars, which is steep for what it is, but I found was in line with most of the restaurants in town that cater to tourists. They also have an excellent selection of local beers on tap, including an awesome oatmeal stout. We returned the next morning for breakfast however this experience was not as enjoyable. I had a rather small and sad looking portion of scrambled eggs, potatoes and toast for $12. Also ordered a side of biscuits which were definitely store bought and came overly microwaved. Yikes...get me to a Waffle House!!! As noted by other reviewers, this place is your only option for breakfast in the lower town as no place else opens before about 11:00, so if you're staying in the lower town without a car, you might want to bring a few granola bars to tide you over until lunch time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    21
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, MD
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining in an Old Stone House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stopped here for a late lunch. We were expecting just an average meal with average service (often a tourist town experience), but to our surprise, we found great food and excellent service. We ate inside in the front dining room, but outdoor dining is an option. We ordered a grilled sandwich, large garden salad, the pub fish and chips and the cream of vegetable soup. All was fresh and presented beautifully. The soup came in a huge bowl, and was so rich. The salad was large as well with large mushrooms, fresh tomatoes, lettuce, onion and cucumbers. This is the place you should definitely plan to eat at when you are visiting Harpers Ferry, WV.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“A gem and Harpers Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you are looking for a great lunch or dinner in Harpers Ferry, you have found it. The good food, reasonable prices and friendly service makes this the go to establishment.

We sat outback on a very secluded porch, surrounded by high brick walls and mountains. It is really is a great setting.

My wife and I both had a perfect soft-shell crab sandwich, that went great with the cold beer. Service was friendly, and attentive.

Don't let old reviews of this place scare you away. I don't know what it was like before, but the new management knows how to make you feel welcome. This really is a gem, and you won't find anything like it around.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic staff made for an enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Having been told of a recent change of ownership, we were prepared to ignore the previous criticisms on Trip Advisor - and are glad we did. Decent food at reasonable prices, served by an energetic and solicitous young waitress; no difficulty in turning up late-ish on a Sunday evening. Her colleague trialled a candlelight-only ambiance for the cosy rock-surrounded back patio, and helped get all four tables talking to each other and sharing in the party atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money. Go to The Anvil instead!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

We were initially impressed by the ambience. The setting is so historical and so beautiful and the young men out front were so friendly. But the food is not even average. We were served broccoli that couldn't possibly have been fresh and frankly, I can't even describe. It was an insult. I can't even imagine choosing to put something like that on someone's plate. I know this sounds like a small incident but it is representative of our entire experience.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Town's Inn also viewed

Harpers Ferry, WV
Harpers Ferry, WV
 

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.