We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers Ferry KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Ferry KOA
Save
You added Harpers Ferry KOA to your Saves list
343 Campground Road, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice family get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Reasonably priced
Some lots are small but there is plenty of oversized lots. Very friendly staff and most of the campers are as well. Highly recommend staying here and suggest you view map and pics before you make reservations.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    43
    28
    11
    18
See reviews for
75
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here two nights in Aug 2014, the people we dealt with were friendly. You can get free pancakes in the morning with a few others items available for a fee. (juice, sausage, etc.) The park hosted a simple civil war / John Brown show, as well as a minimal museum from that period on the property, not special but worth the five minutes required to see it. The dog park is small but sufficient and the free mini golf corse is worn out and in bad condition.

I don't recall ever seeing so many campers crammed into so little space, and we have been RVing for years. Without exaggeration, the site next to ours had a fire ring that was under our slide out because our site was so close to the one next door. Not all were this tight and some seemed nice and wide, but if you are not aware you just get what they assign and it can be very cramped. I was warned by other campers as we registered that we should disconnect our toad as we would never make the turns in the park, and they were right. Water, Sewer and Elect were fine (50 Amp).

The pricing was very high at $85 per night for a motor home. They have a fee for each person, each dog, a resort fee and taxes in addition. Know what you are getting into because they have a cancelation fee as well. The best feature of this park is its location. It is adjacent to the National Park facility. Knowing what I now know, I would give this place a miss for sure!

Room Tip: Look at the location on google maps, satellite view, compare it to the online map and request a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I gave Harpers Valley KOA a rating of 3, which is sort of an average of the things that we found great and not so great about the campground.

What's great:

The community facilities here - pool, jumping pad thingy (whatever it's called), the store (which includes a very nice little theater and free movies), and so on - are among the best we've seen from all the campgrounds we've stayed at, and at this point in our RVing "career" that's quite a few. This includes a very generous parking area in front of the office for registration. There are lots of activities available for kids and families. Taken on their own, the facilities would easily rate a 4, and for families I would daresay a 5.

The location is also perfect for visiting Harpers Ferry and the Shenandoah River area. You can, of course, drive the 1.5 or so miles to get to the "downtown" area, or you an walk on a trail that starts from the park just around the corner from the KOA. For those who, like us, enjoy sampling wines, you're only a few minutes away from an impressive set of vineyards. If you need to do any major food or other shopping, or you want to expand your choices in restaurants (although Harpers Ferry has some very good places to eat), Frederick, MD is only 25 minutes away.

The Not So Great:

We stayed here in our 38 foot motorhome, so I can't comment on the tent camping areas (which seemed decent enough to my inexperienced eye) or the back-in sites for smaller rigs. But I can say that the larger RV sites, especially the pull throughs like the one we had, were awful, among the worst we've ever had. The asphalt roads through the RV area are in horrible condition, with several areas suffering from major erosion that hasn't been addressed by the park staff (note: we also saw evidence of erosion problems in other areas in the campground). I would guess that in a couple places the ruts on the edge of the disintegrating asphalt are more than six inches deep, with one area that we had to skirt cut out about a foot deep. Most of the sites are terribly off-level, so plan to bring plenty of blocks to boost your wheels and jacks (our front right tires are up about six inches off the ground - on blocks, plus blocks under the front jacks - and that still wasn't enough to get us level). On top of that, the slope from the gravel pad to the roadway when you pull out of your site can be precipitous. We decided to back out of ours, because I was afraid of bottoming out the tail of the RV. The sites themselves are gravel (which isn't a bad thing, but just wanted to note that). The power pedestals also looked a bit worn, and ours had an intermittent short in the 50 amp plug that the maintenance folks quickly fixed. Unfortunately, on the driver's side was a junction box for the cable TV system that was standing open with wires sprouting from it - very ugly to see when you open your door to step outside. This was not addressed by maintenance.

The sites are also pretty narrow. We had room enough for our slides and awnings, but if you're the type of traveler that has lots of patio "stuff", you might find yourself straddling your neighbor's sewer hose.

Another thing that was a bit annoying was that the previous guest apparently left the picnic table - which on our site was huge, probably big enough to seat 10 people! - right in the middle of the site. No one from staff had checked over the site to make sure it was ready, so we had to stop, get out, and drag this monstrosity to the side so we could get in. Last but not least, our sewer connection was up on a rise next to the site, which made it a real pain when dumping the tanks: water tends not to flow uphill very well.

So, my rating for the RV site experience would be a grudging two stars. I hesitate to give it one, because I know there are worse places out there, but the RV site area does not at all come close to the standards of the communal part of the KOA. This site was hands down the worst among the 20 campgrounds we stayed at this summer.

Also, typical of most campgrounds, the wifi was essentially useless. Depending on your carrier, you may or may not be able to get a network connection on your smart phone or hotspot - we have Verizon, and our phones generally weren't able to connect at all, but our Jetpack (fortunately!) could.

Bottom line: if you're on a family vacation and are camping in tents (with the caveat that I can't really give an effective evaluation of the tent camping here, but it looked pretty good compared to the RV sites!) or have a small rig or camper, this would probably be a great place to stay. If you're traveling in a larger rig and are drawn by the KOA's location or amenities, be prepared to negotiate some crappy roads in the campground to reach your site, and as I mentioned earlier, have lots of blocks ready to help you level up.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My 6-year old son just loves to camp, thanks to this place. There are a lot of things to do- go swimming, jump on the huge balloon, watch movies in a theater, go to the game room, play basketball indoors, go hay riding, play in the playground, rent bikes, play mini-golf, etc. Plenty of things for kids to do.

As a single mother, this place makes our stay feel like a vacation. The only hard work I need to do is set up the tent and cook if we feel like it. They even provide free pancakes daily for breakfast. Pure bliss for me.

As for safety, I must admit, I do feel that this is a pretty safe place to be, especially since I'm Deaf. I haven't had any problems except for the recent incident where the police came to a tent site close to us and apparently had the couple check out immediately in the middle of the night. I have no idea what happened, but I still felt comfortable enough to stick around.

Next time we go camping there again, we will try water rafting. That's another activity we can do out there.

Highly recommended if you want to just relax in a natural setting or close to it. This place is less than 1.5 hours from DC. Can't beat that.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have camped at Harpers Ferry KOA several times. After reading the reviews, I felt compelled to write my own and say "take the reviews with a grain of salt".

We have had different sites each time we've stayed. Yes, there are some that are small and unlevel, but for the most part we have had good luck getting a good site to fit our needs. The bath houses, pool, and other activities are in a central location, with most of the camp sites surrounding them, making it good for people with children in tow (we sometimes camp with our grandkids). If you want a shaded site, request it when you make a reservation, because there are some on the right, coming in, that have absolutely no shade.

FREE pancakes every morning. Enough said.

Some of the reviews stated that quiet hours were not enforced. Every time we've stayed here, quiet hours HAVE been enforced. When we stayed a few weekends ago, we saw a staff member come by on a golf cart, stop at the travel trailer in front of ours and ask them to turn their music off. It was 10:05pm. Quiet hour starts at 10pm (stated online and in their brochures). The music wasn't bothering us, but we could hear it at our campsite. We were not traveling with children. Maybe if we had been it would have been a nuisance past 8:30-9.

Bathrooms could have been cleaner at times, but I blame that on unattended children sent to the bathrooms by themselves. Staff was regularly cleaning, several times a day.

We've also camped here during hard rains. No trees have ever come down anywhere in the campground that I've seen or heard about.

Overall, this is a great place for couples or families. Clean, a lot going on if you like that sort of environment. Worth a try, definitely.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My family spent two nights here and have to stay, probably the worst ever. Two days earlier, we stayed at a KOA in Charlottesville, VA that's was the Hyatt compared to this hole. Unattended youth running through camps all hours of the night. College kids having frat parties till 4am. Bathrooms by the bunkhouse were deplorable! For the price they charge, it's unacceptable. Will not come here ever.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is an RV park and as such, it has a lot of big RV's crammed in but also has a lot of stuff to do like mini-golf, game room, pool, and activities. We stayed here for a family reunion and were able to use the pavilion. The free pancakes in the morning were nice, and the campstore was extensive. As usual, you can have quiet neighbors or partying neighbors -- Thursday through Sunday, they have a couple of guys on a cart as security. Great access to Harper's Ferry park and town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
3.5 mi away
Knights Inn Knoxville
Knights Inn Knoxville
#1 of 1 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Ferry KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Ferry KOA

Address: 343 Campground Road, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Harpers Ferry
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Harpers Ferry Koa Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers Ferry KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.