We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers Ferry KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Ferry KOA
343 Campground Road, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been staying at this campground annually since our sons were toddlers. We now visit with them and their families and the facilities and the experience just keep getting better. The staff is very friendly , always willing to help in any way possible and they "get" that visitors are the reason they have jobs. It has been fun over the years watch as this facility has continued to develop into the first rate operation it is today. Lots of fun things on the grounds for kids to keep busy including a heated jr Olympic size swimming pool that is kept pristine by staff. We now stay in cabins( originally pitched a tent) that sleep five and have AC. Our cabin is right against the woods and offers maximum privacy and the opportunity to spot lots of birds, flora and wild life. The grounds are about a 1/2 mile hike through the woods to an area of the Shenandoah river, just before it meets the Potomac. Historic Harpers Ferry offers lots to do and see and nearby Charles Town now sports a casino and race track. This year we enjoyed the US Marine Corps drum and bugle group attached to the Preidents guard for an on the lawn performance in Harpers Ferry that everyone cheering. So no matter where you are in your outdoor experience, there is Ana accommodation that will match your needs.

Room Tip: We stay in cabin K136, which is an end site and against the woods. There is only one cabin near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    20
    7
    16
See reviews for
59
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

All in all, we enjoyed our trip to the Harper's Ferry KOA this 4th of July weekend. The site was close to all of the amenities and the pool, bouncy pillow, playground and arcade were favorites of our 2.5 and 3.5 year old kids. We stayed in cabin K-103, a deluxe cabin with a bathroom that slept 4 of us (one queen bed and a set of bunk beds)

Pros -

-The cabin was great. Clean and new -- fantastic air conditioner that was key since the weekend topped 90 degrees everyday. It had a fridge, microwave, cable TV and a full bathroom. VERY convenient for families with young children who are not ready to "rough it" in a tent yet.

-There was PLENTY to do for the kids. Tons of activities that we didn't even get a chance to do, but we did the tie dye t-shirts on our last day which was fun. There was also a bluegrass band on Saturday night which was good.

-The kiddie pool was perfect for the kids. Even though it was crowded, we were able to find tables and chairs with umbrellas each time we went. The heated big pool was awesome and refreshing.

-The Grapes and Grinds coffee shop/wine store was great for a refreshing iced coffee in the afternoons. The fudge they sell there is delicious, too.

-The campground is close to Harper's Ferry. We rode our bikes over to the C&O Canal towpath, but beware - coming back to the campground is ALL UPHILL (steep!) and is challenging (especially with 2 kids in tow), but do-able.

-Free pancakes in the morning were great - fresh and hot. No long lines despite other reviewers experiences.

-They pick up your trash every night, and deliver wood and ice to the sites.

-Staff was friendly and helpful wherever we were.

CONS:

-The site was SMALL. Very cramped and close to the neighboring site. It was so small that we didn't feel safe lighting a fire with the little ones walking around the site. No matter where they walked, they seemed to be too close to the fire.

-The site was SUNNY. No trees or shade whatsoever. It would be worth the $20 extra to request your site be shaded. Luckily, we had a 10x10 canopy that just fit over the picnic table so we weren't in the direct sunlight during the day.

-There was no grill on our fire ring. I told the front office that we didn't have a grill and they said "Yeah, some sites don't have them". I was told we had to buy a grill from the camp store. For the money we paid, I would think that something as simple (and important) as a grill would be guaranteed. So be aware, you may have to bring your own.

The pros outweighed the cons for us, and we had a very good time. Will be back!

Room Tip: KK101-106 are NOT SHADED AT ALL, however the KK107-113 were much better; they had trees were not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

While the staff were pleasant and helpful, the activities and programs seemed abundant. However, our first designated tent site was across from the ONLY dumpster in this large campground, staff were more than accommodating in allowing us to change sites, though the next one already had someone set up . The 3rd site for our tent was a nice, large corner spot, however when our neighbors moved in and decided to stay up each night til 1 or 2 in the morning drinking and talking it became a little annoying. The facilities need a great deal of repair, the women's restroom was in different levels of disrepair, wood trim falling off, paint peeling, toilets cracked. This campground is in a prime location for civil war sites, but considering the cost and the additional fees for the activities and the condition of the restrooms I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I loved my stay at the KOA!! I have stayed at many other campgrounds, and this one is the best. The activities schedule was perfect for the entire family!!! the Summershine college students at the campground volunteer many hours a week and love doing it! they were great with our kids. Dylan, the Activities Director, was absolutely phenomenal! Also, Shane and Dianna brought us firewood and ice to our site. I will be coming back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very disappointed in this visit. But first the good points; lots of activities, swimming pool open until 10 pm to allow for night swimming and then pretty quiet after 10PM. Never had to wait for a shower and the staff seemed to always been cleaning the bathrooms and showers. Very relaxing sitting around the campfire.

The not-so-good points; most of the staff seemed very young and not quite sure how to answer questions, way too many barking dogs (I have 3 but left them at home), and one girl in the office was horrible. I am still going to call the KOA directly and complain about her- that is how bad she was. She definitely needs to be reminded that she is working in hospitality, because she clearly doesn't understand that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Myself and 15 other coworkers stayed here this past weekend, we had 4 cabins and one tent site. I had read the other reviews and was nervous about this place, but I must say, it's very different if you are not in a RV. The RVs were definitely packed in tightly. But the cabins that we stayed in didn't feel crowded at all. They had vinyl covered mattresses, and each one could sleep 5 with a bunk and a pyramid bunk which is a double on the bottom. The cabins even had front porches with swings. There was a heated pool, bouncy thing, movie theater, wine tasting, pancakes, and more. They even DELIVER ICE AND FIREWOOD TO YOUR SITE. That's cool.

It was what I called a metropolitan campground. I really enjoyed my stay here, and would return.

Room Tip: We had cabins k123-126 which were all in a line next to each other and on a street where there was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

,Extremely friendly staff, very dog friendly, tons of amenities, clean bathrooms, free pancakes every morning warm pool… We couldn't think of one bad thing. Everything was reasonable priced. The camp store had everything imagineable too. We couldn't have had a better time. We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: some of the sites looked very uneven…..It would be challenging to stay in certain areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harpers Ferry KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Ferry KOA

Address: 343 Campground Road, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Harpers Ferry
Also Known As:
Harpers Ferry Koa Hotel Harpers Ferry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers Ferry KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harpers Ferry KOA to your Saves list