We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Ridge Hollow B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Ridge Hollow B&B
1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely going back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a few days to get away and decided to stay at West Ridge Hollow. It was the best decision we could have made. We were lucky to stay in the Forest Room which is the entire lower level. The sauna was awesome as well as the hammocks on the deck. Peggy made the most amazing breakfast. Fresh fruit, yogurt and granola, delicious french toast and sausage the first morning. The second morning we had fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, mini cheese quesadillas, avocado and fresh pico de gallo. French press coffee in the mornings as well. The perfect start to the day. Peggy and Jay were fantastic, so easy to talk to and never made us feel that we were imposing. We were a little skeptical of the bed (we have never slept on a tempurpedic mattress) but we were pleasantly surprised. We slept so well!! I have nothing bad to say about our stay at West Ridge Hollow. From the room to our hosts (including Bones the dog) to the location and scenery, everything was perfect. We plan on going back next year.

Room Tip: You won't find anything better than the Forest Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the downstairs room.......which is actually the entire lower level of the house. There is an area with a pool table, couches and flat screen TV which leads out to a deck with 2 inviting hammocks. From there one can take a few steps to a walking trail located behind the house. There is a room with a sauna, full size fridge, utility sink, a couple of chairs with a counter/cabinet. The bed is very comfortable and there is a large closet in the bedroom. Honestly, there was so much space and all of it immaculate!
We had french toast one morning and eggs the other....very tasty and served up with the day's Washington Post.
Peggy and Jay are very friendly and helpful in explaining what things are available to do in the area. The location of the B&B is in a quiet neighborhood and just a 15 minute walk to the historic area. Peggy even offered to do a small bit of laundry for us! The Canal House and Anvil Restaurants are just a short walking distance from the house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had not had a weekend away since our first child was born, five years ago. This was the best trip for quality time away. We were greeted with kindness and shown great hospitality. We stayed in the Forest room, which was perfect. The mattress was so comfortable and every room was spotless. The pictures of West Ridge Hollow on the website do not do the place justice. It was much more than what is shown in the photos. The breakfasts were awesome, as was the company. Not to mention the beauty of Harpers Ferry and the C and O canal. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B&B. We spent a long weekend at West Ridge Hollow in the Forest Room, which is actually a very large suit of rooms. Peggy and Jay were very welcoming and gracious hosts. Peggy's breakfasts were yummy...especially the blueberry pancakes! The room(s) were very clean, large and comfortable, especially the bed. I slept like I would sleep at home, it was so comfortable.

Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing and we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my first time staying at a B & B and I loved it. We stayed in the Nest room, which was a standard room with a private bath. The location is good. It's not right in the middle of the main historic area, but close enough for an easy walk or bike ride down to the sites. There are 2 great restaurants only about 3 blocks away which are less crowded than in the main part of town.

A nice touch was the back deck which we were welcome to sit on and enjoy our wine while watching the many birds feast on the bird feeders.

Room Tip: While I did not see the other room, I understand the Forest room is quite extensive. If you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

All I can do is echo what most of the other reviewers have said, and tell you that the West Ridge Hollow B&B is excellent! Ask for the forest "room," and you will actually get a whole private suite which includes a spacious living room, outside deck, pool table, and even a sauna. All this is for the same price you would probably pay for just a bedroom at another B&B. The West Ridge Hollow is located in a quiet neighborhood, but not far from the Harpers Ferry historic district. Hostess Peggy was full of tourist advice. She cooked delicious breakfasts. The first morning it was scrambled eggs with fresh salsa, and the second morning we had blueberry pancakes. We will definitely return the next time we stay in Harpers Ferry, WV.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West Ridge Hollow B&B for three nights for a long weekend getaway. The location was perfect! It felt like you were tucked away, but so close to everything downtown. Our hosts, Peggy and Jay, are fantastic, so welcoming and hospitable. We almost felt like we were staying with family. They were so kind in giving us ideas of things to do downtown, from hiking trails, to the best tours and restaurants.

Not only were our hosts absolutely amazing, so were our accommodations and breakfasts. The room was cozy, extremely clean, and beautifully decorated. The view outside our window was breathtaking! There was also a porch to sit and relax. If you love the outdoors, there are hiking trails right outside their back door.

This B&B is the best. Period. We definitely can't wait to come back again this year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Ridge Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ridge Hollow B&B

Address: 1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the quiet of a forested hollow. The rest of the Historic Park is steps away. John Brown. Appalachian Trail. C & O towpath. Murphy's Farm. Loudoun County wine country is just a short drive! Or just sit on one of our porches in the forest canopy. If you're lucky you'll see foxes playing on Bolivar Run below our house. Se Habla Espanol! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Ridge Hollow B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Ridge Hollow B&B to your Saves list