We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Ridge Hollow B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Ridge Hollow B&B
Save
You added West Ridge Hollow B&B to your Saves list
1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater
1 review
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had not had a weekend away since our first child was born, five years ago. This was the best trip for quality time away. We were greeted with kindness and shown great hospitality. We stayed in the Forest room, which was perfect. The mattress was so comfortable and every room was spotless. The pictures of West Ridge Hollow on the website do not do the place justice. It was much more than what is shown in the photos. The breakfasts were awesome, as was the company. Not to mention the beauty of Harpers Ferry and the C and O canal. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Newark, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B&B. We spent a long weekend at West Ridge Hollow in the Forest Room, which is actually a very large suit of rooms. Peggy and Jay were very welcoming and gracious hosts. Peggy's breakfasts were yummy...especially the blueberry pancakes! The room(s) were very clean, large and comfortable, especially the bed. I slept like I would sleep at home, it was so comfortable.

Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing and we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my first time staying at a B & B and I loved it. We stayed in the Nest room, which was a standard room with a private bath. The location is good. It's not right in the middle of the main historic area, but close enough for an easy walk or bike ride down to the sites. There are 2 great restaurants only about 3 blocks away which are less crowded than in the main part of town.

A nice touch was the back deck which we were welcome to sit on and enjoy our wine while watching the many birds feast on the bird feeders.

Room Tip: While I did not see the other room, I understand the Forest room is quite extensive. If you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

All I can do is echo what most of the other reviewers have said, and tell you that the West Ridge Hollow B&B is excellent! Ask for the forest "room," and you will actually get a whole private suite which includes a spacious living room, outside deck, pool table, and even a sauna. All this is for the same price you would probably pay for just a bedroom at another B&B. The West Ridge Hollow is located in a quiet neighborhood, but not far from the Harpers Ferry historic district. Hostess Peggy was full of tourist advice. She cooked delicious breakfasts. The first morning it was scrambled eggs with fresh salsa, and the second morning we had blueberry pancakes. We will definitely return the next time we stay in Harpers Ferry, WV.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupermanRoSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the West Ridge Hollow B&B for three nights for a long weekend getaway. The location was perfect! It felt like you were tucked away, but so close to everything downtown. Our hosts, Peggy and Jay, are fantastic, so welcoming and hospitable. We almost felt like we were staying with family. They were so kind in giving us ideas of things to do downtown, from hiking trails, to the best tours and restaurants.

Not only were our hosts absolutely amazing, so were our accommodations and breakfasts. The room was cozy, extremely clean, and beautifully decorated. The view outside our window was breathtaking! There was also a porch to sit and relax. If you love the outdoors, there are hiking trails right outside their back door.

This B&B is the best. Period. We definitely can't wait to come back again this year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed two nights -- the first was spent in the room upstairs since the Forest Room wasn't available that night. That room is a standard guest room with a private bath. But the second night, we moved down to the Forest Room. I am still amazed at this room, which encompasses the entire downtstairs, with a bedroom, kitchen, living room, not to mention a sauna, pool table, and a private deck that leads down to hiking trails. It it incredibly spacious and fun, making it the prefect place to relax and unwind. Peggy also owns an adorable dog who came to greet us when we arrived. I would definitely recommend the Forest Room to anyone who is looking for lodging there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caligirl510z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The pictures don't do this place justice. We stayed in the Forest Room, which is the lower level of their house, completely private and very nice. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated the space was. The bedroom has a super comfortable tempurpedic mattress and really nice linens. There's a second room that has a pool table, a couch and a flat screen TV on the wall. It overlooks a forested area and has a deck off the back to hang out on. Peggy and Jay were fun and gracious hosts. We stayed there 2 nights and each morning we were served a really nice breakfast (eggs and bacon with fruit one morning, pancakes, yogurt and fruit the other morning) complete with coffee, juice and a copy of the Washington Post. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat in Harpers Ferry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMcGrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Conference Center
Quality Hotel Conference Center
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
2.6 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Ridge Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ridge Hollow B&B

Address: 1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the quiet of a forested hollow. The rest of the Historic Park is steps away. John Brown. Appalachian Trail. C & O towpath. Murphy's Farm. Loudoun County wine country is just a short drive! Or just sit on one of our porches in the forest canopy. If you're lucky you'll see foxes playing on Bolivar Run below our house. Se Habla Espanol! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing