We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Ridge Hollow B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Ridge Hollow B&B
Save
You added West Ridge Hollow B&B to your Saves list
1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed two nights -- the first was spent in the room upstairs since the Forest Room wasn't available that night. That room is a standard guest room with a private bath. But the second night, we moved down to the Forest Room. I am still amazed at this room, which encompasses the entire downtstairs, with a bedroom, kitchen, living room, not to mention a sauna, pool table, and a private deck that leads down to hiking trails. It it incredibly spacious and fun, making it the prefect place to relax and unwind. Peggy also owns an adorable dog who came to greet us when we arrived. I would definitely recommend the Forest Room to anyone who is looking for lodging there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The pictures don't do this place justice. We stayed in the Forest Room, which is the lower level of their house, completely private and very nice. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated the space was. The bedroom has a super comfortable tempurpedic mattress and really nice linens. There's a second room that has a pool table, a couch and a flat screen TV on the wall. It overlooks a forested area and has a deck off the back to hang out on. Peggy and Jay were fun and gracious hosts. We stayed there 2 nights and each morning we were served a really nice breakfast (eggs and bacon with fruit one morning, pancakes, yogurt and fruit the other morning) complete with coffee, juice and a copy of the Washington Post. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing retreat in Harpers Ferry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very friendly people, excellent breakfast. However, it is a room in their house. It looks no different than any other house on the street. I would equate it more to staying at a friends house than a bed and breakfast. We felt very awkward coming and going, and spent most of the time there in our room. There was nothing wrong, just be prepared for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My favorite aspect of this place is that you don't just get a room--you get an entire floor complete with a deck where you can relax on a hammock and there is a pool table. The breakfasts are excellent, especially the pancakes with fruit. Since the B&B is at the end of the road next to the woods, it's quiet and private. It's also just a couple of blocks away from two very good restaurants, the Canal House and the Anvil. At any given time, there are only two sets of guests, making it a more intimate atmosphere.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the Forest Suite downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Peggy and Jay's place as a birthday gift from me to my mom. What a great choice! I think Mom will be indebted to me on this one for a while. ;) Peggy and Jay are wonderful, welcoming folks with a beautiful immaculate home and a great dog, Bones. They are free with information without hovering. The bed, towels and pillows were SO comfortable. The shower stuff (soaps and lotions) were Burt's Bees. Breakfast was awesome! In the morning, I ran the deer trails behind their house and saw several deer. On coming home from the day away, Peggy and Jay were available to the guests for chatting and laughter. It really felt like we were staying with friends, except we had to pay, of course.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Peggy's delightful B&B recently, and we felt so welcomed. Totally open and affirming to gay couples! The house backs up to miles of gorgeous forests, with deer close by. The home is neat and trim, without a trace of clutter. Beautiful hardwood floors and whimsical touches of Mexico throughout the home. We had such a great time, and the breakfast was so yummy. We highly recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I were cycling on the C&O Canal and our last stop was Harpers Ferry. After a long day of cycling through the mud and rain, we were warmly greeted by Peggy. She provided a hose for our muddy bikes and a garage to keep them in. We showed up to her beautiful B&B hungry, exhausted, and dirty!!! She welcomed us into her beautiful, immaculate home. Our room was upstairs with a private bath. Our room was perfect for us. Peggy & Jay shared information about their town and recommended several restaurants which were all within walking distance from the b&b. Peggy made the most amazing breakfast the next morning. To top it all off, Jay offered to drive us to Brunswick, where we needed to pick up our u-haul to take our bikes back to our car. We will definitely go back and stay at their lovely b&b!! They are such kind people, they make you feel like family!! Their dog Bones is awesome too!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Ridge Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ridge Hollow B&B

Address: 1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the quiet of a forested hollow. The rest of the Historic Park is steps away. John Brown. Appalachian Trail. C & O towpath. Murphy's Farm. Loudoun County wine country is just a short drive! Or just sit on one of our porches in the forest canopy. If you're lucky you'll see foxes playing on Bolivar Run below our house. Se Habla Espanol! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Ridge Hollow B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.