We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...its a house” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Ridge Hollow B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Ridge Hollow B&B
1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“...its a house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very friendly people, excellent breakfast. However, it is a room in their house. It looks no different than any other house on the street. I would equate it more to staying at a friends house than a bed and breakfast. We felt very awkward coming and going, and spent most of the time there in our room. There was nothing wrong, just be prepared for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My favorite aspect of this place is that you don't just get a room--you get an entire floor complete with a deck where you can relax on a hammock and there is a pool table. The breakfasts are excellent, especially the pancakes with fruit. Since the B&B is at the end of the road next to the woods, it's quiet and private. It's also just a couple of blocks away from two very good restaurants, the Canal House and the Anvil. At any given time, there are only two sets of guests, making it a more intimate atmosphere.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the Forest Suite downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My mom and I stayed at Peggy and Jay's place as a birthday gift from me to my mom. What a great choice! I think Mom will be indebted to me on this one for a while. ;) Peggy and Jay are wonderful, welcoming folks with a beautiful immaculate home and a great dog, Bones. They are free with information without hovering. The bed, towels and pillows were SO comfortable. The shower stuff (soaps and lotions) were Burt's Bees. Breakfast was awesome! In the morning, I ran the deer trails behind their house and saw several deer. On coming home from the day away, Peggy and Jay were available to the guests for chatting and laughter. It really felt like we were staying with friends, except we had to pay, of course.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Peggy's delightful B&B recently, and we felt so welcomed. Totally open and affirming to gay couples! The house backs up to miles of gorgeous forests, with deer close by. The home is neat and trim, without a trace of clutter. Beautiful hardwood floors and whimsical touches of Mexico throughout the home. We had such a great time, and the breakfast was so yummy. We highly recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I were cycling on the C&O Canal and our last stop was Harpers Ferry. After a long day of cycling through the mud and rain, we were warmly greeted by Peggy. She provided a hose for our muddy bikes and a garage to keep them in. We showed up to her beautiful B&B hungry, exhausted, and dirty!!! She welcomed us into her beautiful, immaculate home. Our room was upstairs with a private bath. Our room was perfect for us. Peggy & Jay shared information about their town and recommended several restaurants which were all within walking distance from the b&b. Peggy made the most amazing breakfast the next morning. To top it all off, Jay offered to drive us to Brunswick, where we needed to pick up our u-haul to take our bikes back to our car. We will definitely go back and stay at their lovely b&b!! They are such kind people, they make you feel like family!! Their dog Bones is awesome too!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at West Ridge Hollow in July. The house is beautiful, and well-appointed. The decorations are tasteful but very interesting; and everything was extremely clean, comfortable, with a lot of thoughtful touches that made our stay really great. The bed in our room was heavenly... we have a good memory foam mattress at home, but we both thought that there was something just amazing about the bed in our room.

We stayed in the Forest room, which had a private patio with hammocks, as well as a pool table and sitting area. On one of our days there, we went whitewater tubing, strolled around Harper's Ferry for a bit, got back to the B&B, washed up and headed to nearby wineries. We had did wine tastings, had dinner at one of the wineries, and then came back to the house... where we relaxed on the hammocks outside and played pool... just a wonderful combination of an active and relaxing day, and the stay at West Ridge Hollow was a big part of our great experience.

The owners, Peggy and Jay, were wonderful hosts. Peggy customized our breakfasts according to our request, both were really helpful with directions, information about the area and stuff like that, and they were also laid back and made us feel comfortable.

The one downside is that it is quite a hike from the "downtown" Harpers Ferry area-- about half an hour on hilly terrain. But I'm not even sure I consider that a downside, considering that parking in town is plentiful and there are 2 solid restaurants (one fancy, one pub-ish) a very short walk from the place anyway.

We will definitely stay here again when we are back in the area... we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

W. Ridge Hollow is an unusual b& b experience in many ways. The hosts have filled the space with exquisite art objects from Mexico - a different kind of americana. We stayed in a suite that included a porch with hammocks and a sauna. The privacy was refreshing. So was the hospitality and food - farm-fresh eggs with pico de gallo and avocado. We will definitely try to visit again! Muy linda!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Ridge Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ridge Hollow B&B

Address: 1250 W. Ridge St., Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the quiet of a forested hollow. The rest of the Historic Park is steps away. John Brown. Appalachian Trail. C & O towpath. Murphy's Farm. Loudoun County wine country is just a short drive! Or just sit on one of our porches in the forest canopy. If you're lucky you'll see foxes playing on Bolivar Run below our house. Se Habla Espanol! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Ridge Hollow B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Ridge Hollow B&B to your Saves list