We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Once all the tourists leave you have the whole town to yourself. Chris and Cane are nice. The house is old so it is charming. It is nicely decorated. You can hear the trains all night so if you are a light sleeper then may be disturbing, but it didn't bother us. Gray and blue rooms share a bathroom. Best thing about it was where it is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We Stayed 3 nights at this lovely cozy B&B in Harpers Ferry. We had the 3rd floor room with the private bath. The bed was incredibly comfortable! Every morning woke up to the view of the Blue Ridge Mountains outside our window. Chris ( the owner) is a fantastic cook and the breakfast's he made - he topped himself each day! He has a wonderful friendly dog who always greets everyone good morning! This is the only B&B that is in the lower part of town which is where everything is located. Just park and walk to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent two nights @ Stonehouse to relax, explore the history & river area of Harpers Ferry over Easter weekend... Great place to crash right in the old historical section of town / National Park. The park closes down at 5:00 PM & then the quiet of the river & trains lull you to sleep; but not til after a great dinner & ghost tour walking the dim lit streets. As usual, you met the nicest people at B & Bs & Chris, the owner, is a great cook & host: like visiting an old friend.
Hiked the Maryland Heights trail to overlook, went on toured & tasted at Bloomery Distillery in Charles Town, nice eatery places in Harpers Ferry, Shepherd's Town & CharlesTown

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow...traveling up north with my boyfriend-someone I've known for 30 years, but recently reconnected with. Traveling on Valentine's Day, and looking for someplace historic, rustic, and romantic--in Harpers Ferry, WV. I found a number of nice places, and then came across Stonehouse B&B, and knew immediately that it was where we wanted to stay. An old restored house, with an absolutely fabulous Top Floor...wood floors, old stone walls, and a very interesting, well-informed Inn Keep, and his dog. :) Absolutely Loved it...and planning to return again sometime in the future. Highly recommended. :)

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms at the Stonehouse...the Blue Room, Grey Room, and the Top Floor. The first 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent a lovely three nights at the Stonehouse. It's a beautifully restored house ideally situated in the lower town. Chris is an excellent host--he's a great cook, gave us some good recommendations for the area, and made sure we were nice and warm during our visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Blue Room faces the river, and the Gray Room faces High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent a night at Stonehouse during a bike trip from Pittsburgh to DC. This B&B is in a stunning old home right in historic Harpers Ferry. The innkeeper is an interesting young guy with an adorable dog. The room was very modern farmhouse chic, big clawfoot tub in the shared bathroom. Breakfast was hearty and healthy--fresh berries, greek yogurt, pancakes. Great coffee, laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I came to Stonehouse for one night (wish it was more!) as a stopover on our roadtrip honeymoon. It was by far our favorite place we stayed our entire 10 day trip. Not only is it a gorgeous place in and of itself, it's centrally located in beautiful Harpers Ferry.

We booked our room for the Top Floor and we just loved it. So cozy...and the views! Amazing! We slept soo well on that comfy bed. Also loved writing some notes about our trip in that big comfy leather armchair! Only reason I would recommend staying in the Blue or Gray Rooms over the Top Floor (which are both also beautiful) is you'd save yourself an extra flight of stairs. Really, any room is beautiful. The Innkeeper, Chris, was telling us over breakfast all the work he's put into the building, and wow, it really shows! And whoa. Speaking of breakfast...Ugh, I want some more of those homemade pancakes right now! Chris made from scratch some amazing pancakes with homemade fruit syrup and a big side of bacon. Very impressive - we felt at home immediately. Also loved Cane, his super sweet dog!

Really can't say enough good things about this place. Can't wait to go back someday!

Room Tip: Top Floor has amazing views and its own bathroom - but if you want to save yourself a flight of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 156 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Location: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1839, Stonehouse B&B is the only bed and breakfast located in the lower town of Harpers Ferry, WV and the most recent to open. We offer a laid back and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic district and are located the closest to the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, the Appalachian Trail, C&O canal, the train station, shops, restaurants, ice cream places and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.